Subject Guide
National Air and Space Museum Library
Aeronautics: Art
-
Aircraft Images
Collection of military aircraft images
-
NASA Dryden Aircraft Photograph Collection
This collection contains digitized photos of many of the unique research aircraft flown at NASA Dryden Flight Research Center at Edwards AFB, California. These images date from the 1940s to the present. No copyright protection is asserted for these photographs.
-
World War I Modeling
Information about creating W.W.I aircraft models, including numerous illustrations
Aeronautics: Associations Societies
-
Air Transport Association
Timely information about the air transportation industry
-
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Overview of the principal organization serving the aerospace profession. Its primary purpose is to advance the arts, sciences and technology of aero- and astronautics
-
International Order of Characters
Membership Corporation devoted to the enhancement and fostering of the fields of Aviation and Aerospaceand the granting of scholarships at institutions of higher learning
- The Ninety-Nines International Organization of Women Pilots
Aeronautics: Education
- Amazing Space: curriculum tools for educators and latest space news
-
Centennial of Flight
Commemoration of the Wright brothers first flight
- Franklin Institute Flights of Inspriation
- History of Pan American Airways
-
NASA Aerospace Education Services Program
Free nationwide program in aerospace education
Aeronautics: General
-
Adventure Lounge
Early aircraft designs from U.S. patent applications
-
Aerolink
Commercial aviation link directory
-
Air Times
Virtual museum of the airline industry
-
Aviation Home Page
Commercial site for aviation products and information
- Flight International
-
Jet Charters: Worldwide Air Charter Marketplace
This commercial site provides an air charter marketplace and information on air charter, airports, fixed based operators, and charter aircraft available at those airports.
-
Landings
Aviation directory featuring updated databases, aviation news and news forums
-
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Index to NACA technical reports on aeronautics
-
National Air and Space Museum's (NASM) Aeronatics Division
Division responsible for the collecting and historical research at the National Air and Space Museum
-
Planes of Fame
Provides historical information on famous and infamous aircraft
-
Warbird Index
Index of historical military aircraft
Aeronautics: Libraries Archives
- National Air and Space Museum Archives Division
-
Royal Aeronautical Society Library
Oldest aerospace library in existence
-
San Diego Air & Space Museum Library
Library/Archives for the San Diego Air & Space Museum Library
Aeronautics: Museums
-
Air Heritage, Inc.
Features active restoration shop and displays from the beginning to the present civilian, commercial and military aircraft
-
Air Times
Virtual museum of airline history
-
Air Times
Virtual museum of airline history
-
American Airpower Heritage Museum
Museum located at Midland International Airport in Midland, Texas is dedicated to preserving the complete history of World War II military aviation
- Aviation Museum Locator
-
Aviation Museum of Santa Paula
Museum located in Santa Paula, California that showcases antique, experimental and ultralight aircraft
-
Aviation Museums of the World
Listing of aviation museums around the world
-
Aviation Museums of the World
Listing of aviation museums throughout the world
-
Beechcraft Heritage Museum
Museum located in Tullahoma, Tennesee,dedicated to Beechcraft Aircraft
- College Park Aviation Museum
-
International Women's Air and Space Museum
Museum located in Cleveland, Ohio is dedicated to preserving the achievements of women in aviation and aerospace and promoting education of women's aviation history
-
National Soaring Museum
Museum located in Elmira, New York is dedicated to preserving the heritage of motorless flight
-
Planes of Fame Air Museum
Museum located in Chino, California and Valle, Arizona. The museum is dedicated to the preservation, perpetuation and exhibition of historical aircraft, and to the people who devoted their lives to flight.
-
Seattle Museum of Flight
Largest flight museum on the West coast
-
Tillamook Air Museum
Museum is located in Tillamook, Oregon in a WWII blimp hangar. The museum showcases combat aircraft
-
Virginia Air and Space Center
Overview of a leading air and space museum
-
Virginia Aviation Museum
The museum is located at Richmond International Airport, Richmond, Virginia. The museum showcases aircraft from the golden age of aviation
-
Walnut Ridge Army Flying School
Located in Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, this was the first bone yard for aircraft. This is where all of the WWII aircraft was returned
-
Western North Carolina Air Museum
The museum is located in Hendersonville, North Carolina. This museum preserves the aviation heritage of North Carolina
-
Wings of Eagles and National Warplane Museum
Museum located at the Elmira-Corning Regional Airport in Horsehead, New York. The museum showcases from aircraft from the Golden Age of flight after WWI through the Vietnam era
-
Wings of Eagles and National Warplane Museum
Museum located at the Elmira-Corning Regional Airport in Horsehead, New York. The museum showcases from aircraft from the Golden Age of flight after WWI through the Vietnam era
Aeronautics: Other Resources
-
Aeronautics Timeline
NASA history of aeronautics and astronautics timeline
-
Aerotech News & Review
Focuses on the aerospace and defense industries
-
Air Force History Index
Searchable index of 550,000 U.S. Air Force historical documents maintained by the Air Force Historical Research Agency (AFHRA)
-
FlightGlobal Archive of Flight Magaine (1909-2005)
Every issue of Flight Magazine published between 1909-2005, digitally scanned and fully searchable.
-
Proceedings of the United States Naval Institute (1874-1923) via Internet Archive
Full text access through the Internet Archive to journal published by and for U.S. Navy professionals and interested civilians.
-
Tuskegee Airmen
History and photos of the African American WWII pilots
-
Women in Aviation
Resource center listing educational, historical and networking information for and about women in avation
Aeronautics: Smithsonian Resources
Aeronautics: U.S. Government
-
Air Traffic Control System Command Center
Real-time airport status page
-
Federal Aviation Administration (F.A.A.)
Located in College Park, MD at the world's oldest continuously operating airport
- Wright-Patterson Air Force Base
Astronomy: General
-
AbsoluteAstronomy
General facts and information site on astronomy
-
Astronomical Almanac Online
Online astronomical almanac jointly maintained by the U. S. Nautical Almanac Office in the United States (USNO) and Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO) in the United Kingdom
-
Astronomy Dictionary and Glossary
Astronomy dictionary and glossary
-
Astronomy Thesaurus
Astronomical thesaurus maintained by the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics at Australian National University
-
Astroweb
General, searchable astronomy site with links to astronomy-related information on the Internet
-
Earth and Sky
Site of the award-winning science radio program Earth and Sky
-
Space.com
Site that provides information everything space
-
Sunrise/Sunset Calendars
Site provides sunrise and sunset times, as well as moonrise and moonset times
-
Wikisky
Wikisky.org uses the wiki-eye on space. Use the draggable space model with highlighted constellations, submit your own star information and view a model of the stars that are above you in real time
Astronomy: Image Collections
-
Anglo-Australian Observatory Astronomical Images
Astronomy image collection from the Anglo-Australian Observatory located in Eastwood, New South Wales
-
Astronomical Digital Image Library
Digital image library maintained by the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA)at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign campus
-
Astronomy Picture of the Day
NASA provides a daily astronomical photograph
-
Constellation Photographs
Deep photographs of the constellations
-
Hubble Space Telescope Image Site
Images from the Hubble Space Telescope
- JPL Photojournal
-
Lunar Photo of the Day
Daily photographs of the moon
-
NASA Multiwavelength Milky Way
NASA images of the Milky Way
-
NASA Skyview Virtual Observatory
SkyView is a Virtual Observatory on the Net generating images of any part of the sky at wavelengths in all regimes from Radio to Gamma-Ray.
-
NASA Solar Data Archive Center
NASA images of the sun
Astronomy: Libraries
-
Adler Planetarium Library
The library located at the Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum in Chicago, Illinois. The Adler Planetarium was the first planetarium built in the Western Hemisphere and is the oldest in existence today.
-
Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA) Library
The John J. Wolbach Library and Information Center combines the collections of the Harvard College Observatory (HCO) Library and the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) Library, forming one of the world's preeminent astronomical collections
-
Institute for Astronomy (IfA) Library
University of Hawaii's (Honolulu)astronomy library
-
Lowell Observatories Library
Library of the Lowell Observatory located in Flagstaff, Arizona
-
Lunar and Planetary Institute Library
The Center for Research and Information Studies is located at the Lunar and Planetary Institute in Houston, Texas
-
National Radio Astronomy Observatory Library
Library affiliated with the National Radio Astronomy Observatories
-
Peyton Hall Astrophysics Library
Library located at Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey
-
Physics-Optics-Astronomy Library (POA)
Library located at the University of Rochester, Rochester, New York
-
Space Telescope Science Institute (StScI) Library
Library for the Space Telescope Science Institue located in Baltimore, Maryland. The Space Telescope Science Institute is the home of planning and public outreach programs for the Hubble Telescope, and is also the science and operations center for the James Webb Space Telescope
-
United States Naval Observatory Library
Library for the United States Naval Observatory
-
Woodman Astronomical Library
Library located at the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus
Astronomy: News
-
Alden Planetarium
Planetarium located in Worcester, Massachusetts
-
Astronomy
Online edition of Astronomy magazine
-
Astronomy Headlines
Astronomy news
-
Space.com
Astronomy news and other information about space
-
Today at NASA
NASA news and features
-
Universe Today
Space exploration and astronomy news
Astronomy: Observatories
-
Allegheny Observatory
Observatory affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The observatory is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places
-
Apache Point Observatory
Observatory located in the Sacramento Mountains in Sunspot, New Mexico
-
Appalachian State University's Dark Sky Observatory
Observatory located in Boone, North Carolina affiliated with Appalachian State University
-
Cloudbait Observatory
Robotic observatory located in the Colorado Rockies (Guffey, Colorado)
-
College of Staten Island Astrophysical Observatory
NASA funded observatory located at the College of Staten Island, New York
-
Custer Institute and Observatory
Observatory located on Long Island, New York
-
Dudley Observatory
Observatory located in Albany, New York. It is the oldest independent astronomical research organization in the United States.
-
Gemini Observatory
Observatory with two Gemini telescopes at two different sites, Mauna Kea, Hawaii and Cero Pachon, Chile.Cerro Pachón, Chile
-
Griffith Observatory
Observatory located in Los Angeles, California. The observatory sits on s south-facing slope of Mount Hollywood in L.A.'s Griffith Park, it commands a view of the Los Angeles Basin, including downtown Los Angeles to the southeast, Hollywood to the south, and the Pacific Ocean to the southwest.
-
Kitt Peak National Observatory
The observatory is United States astronomical observatory located on the Quinlan Mountains in the Arizona-Sonoran Desert on the Tohono O'odham Nation, southwest of Tucson, Arizone. The observatory is considered to be part of the National Optical Astronomy Observatory (NOAO), although some of the telescopes located here, belong to other groups such as the University of Arizona's Steward Observatory. With 23 telescopes, it is the largest, most diverse gathering of astronomical instruments in the world
-
Lick Observatory
Observatory located on the summit of Mount Hamilton, east of San Jose, California. It is owned and operated by the University of California, Santa Cruz
-
Mauna Kea Observatories
The observatories, managed by the University of Hawaii, are located on the summit of Mauna Kea on the Big Island of Hawaii. The facilities are located in a 500-acre special land use zone known as the "Astronomy Precinct," which is located in the Mauna Kea Science Reserve.
-
McDonald Observatory
Observatory located the town of Fort Davis, Texas. The observatory is under the auspices of the University of Texas, Austin
-
Minneapolis Planetarium
The Minneapolis Planetarium is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota
-
Mount Wilson Observatory
Observatory located on Mount Wilson in Southern California.
-
National Solar Observatory
The National Solar Observatory has two observing facility locations: Kitt Peak, Arizona and Sacramento Peak, New Mexico
-
Ott Planetarium
The Ott Planetarium is located at Webster State University, Ogden, Utah
-
Palomar Observatory
Observatory is located in North San Diego County, San Diego, California. It is home to five telescopes, and is under the auspices of the California Institute of Technology
-
Steward Observatory
Observatory located at the University of Arizona, Tucson
-
U.S. Naval Observatory
One of the oldest scientific agencies in America. Official Source of Time for the Department of Defense (DoD),lobal Positioning System (GPS),and a Standard of Time for the United States
-
University of Virginia Observatories
Observatories either located on the University of Virginia's campus in Charlottesville, Virgina or observatories that area affiliated with the University of Virginia
-
Van Vleck Observatory
Observatory located at Wesleyan University, Middletown, Connecticut
-
Yerkes Observatory
Observatory located in Williams Bay, Wisconsin, affiliated with the University of Chicago
Astronomy: Planetaria
-
Abrams Planetarium
The Talbert and Leota Abrams Planetarium is located on the campus of Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan
-
Adler Planetarium
The Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum in Chicago, Illinois was the first planetarium built in the Western Hemisphere and is the oldest in existence today
-
Albert Einstein Planetarium/National Air and Space Museum/Smithsonian Institution
Planetarium located in the National Air and Space Museum located in Washington, DC
-
Buhl Digital Dome
Henry J. Buhl Planetarium located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
-
Charles Hayden Planetarium
The Charles Hayden Planetarium is located at the Museum of Science in Boston, Massachusetts
-
Christa McAuliffe Planetarium
The Christa McAuliffe Planetarium is located in Concord, New Hampshire
-
Clark Planetarium
Planetarium located in Salt Lake City, Utah
-
Fels Planetarium
The Franklin Fels Planetarium located at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
-
Fiske Planetarium and Science Center
Fiske Planetarium and Science Center is located in Boulder, Colorado
-
Hayden Planetarium
Hayden Planetarium is located at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City
-
Strasenburgh Planetarium
The Strasenburgh Planetarium is located at the Rochester Museum and Science Center in Rochester, New York
Astronomy: Publications
-
Sky and Telescope
Astronomy magazine is considered to be the premier astronomy magazine
-
The Astronomer
Online edition of astronomy magazine for the advance amateur
Earth Sciences: Remote Sensing
-
Canadian Centre for Remote Sensing
Analysis of environmental change using remote sensing techniques
-
National Air and Space Museum's Center for Earth and Planetary Studies (CEPS)
Current research into planetary and terrestial geology using remote sensing techniques
-
National Space Science Data Center
Analyzes and synthesizes data from NASA's space exploration program, models and computer-generated imagery
-
TELSAT Guide
Guide to satellite information
Earth Sciences: Smithsonian Institution Resources
- Department of Mineral Sciences, National Museum of Natural History
- Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
- National Air and Space Museum's Center for Earth and Planetary Studies(CEPS)
Space Sciences: Astronomy
-
Astrofolk
Includes astronomy images and planet and solar system facts,trivia, lore,poetry, quotes and more
-
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Each day a different image of photographof our universe is featured, along with a brief explanation written by an astronomer
-
Dictionary of Nomenclature of Celestial Objects
Dictionary of Nomenclature for Celestial Objects
- Mars 2001 Thermal Emission Imaging System (THEMIS)
-
NASA Astroyphysics Data System
Digital library for physics, astrophysics and instrumentation
- New Horizons Pluto Mission
-
Yahoo: Science: Astronomy
Tool for searching the Web for information about astronomy
Space Sciences: Astrophysics
-
Astrophysics at Princeton
Astrophysical research undertaken at Princeton University
-
AstroWeb
Directory of astronomy and astrophysics resources on the Web
-
European Southern Observatory
European astronomical observatory located in Chile
-
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Library resources of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, a branch of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries
-
National Radio Astronomy Observatory Library
Radio astronomy observatory operated under the auspices of the National Science Foundation
- Physics and Astronomy News
-
Space Telescope Science Institute Library
Library resources of the Space Telescope Science Institute
Space Sciences: Commercial
-
Astronautics Corporation
Commercial products related to aerospace
Space Sciences: Exploration
-
Cassini/Huygens Mission to Saturn Information
Latest information from NASA on the Cassini/Huygens Mission
-
Hubble Space Telescope
Site dedicated to the Hubble Space Telescope
-
Human Space Flight
Latest information from NASA on human space flight
-
Mars Exploration Information
Latest information from NASA on Mars exploration
-
Mars Rovers Information
Latest information from NASA on the Mars Rovers mission
-
Messenger
Current information about the Messinger Mission to Mercury
-
Solar System Simulator
NASA site that allows the site user to see the planets as our space craft see them
-
Stardust Mission Information
Latest information on the Stardust mission from NASA
Space Sciences: General
-
Earth and Sky
Award-winning daily science radio series
-
Important historical documents from NASA
Documents published by NASA since the 1950's
-
Mars Probe Images
Provides images and research information from the current Mars probe
-
NASA Home Page
NASA's mission as a leader in aero- and astronautics
-
NASA Shuttle Web
News about the Space Shuttle program
-
NASA Technical Reports
NASA's collection of technical reports in aero- and astronautics
-
Space Information
News about space exploration
-
Space Medicine
A review of NASA's research in space medicine, under Project Mercury
-
Space Today
Provides daily information on space exploration and related issues
-
Terraserver
Provides satellite images of locations around the world
-
Two Micron All Sky Summary (2 MASS)
Atlas of over 5 million images of the sky
Space Sciences: History of Space Sciences
-
NASA History
History of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and their ongoing mission in aero- and astronautics
-
NASA History Office Home Page
Historical overview of NASA
-
NASM Space History Oral History Project
Interviews with historic figures in space flight
-
National Air and Space Museum's (NASM) Space History Department
Information about the Space History Department at the National Air and Space Museum (NASM)
-
Spacecraft Scale Models
Models of spacecraft and experimental aircraft
Space Sciences: Organizations
-
Aerospace Corporation
The Aerospace Corporation is a federally funded research and development center in support of national-security, civil and commercial space programs
-
Aerospace Legacy Foundation
The goal of the Aerospace Legacy Foundation is to preserve Southern California's aviation and aerospace heritage
-
Association of Space Explorers
The Association of Space Explorers is an international nonprofit professional and educational organization of over 300 individuals from 30 nations who have flown in space
-
European Space Agency
Comprised of fourteen member states which promote cooperation in space research and technology for scientific purposes
-
International Space Agency
The International Space Agency, ISA, International Space Administration, is an international "global" civil space organization that represents and supports, both, government and non-governmental, entities, organizations, and persons
-
Lunar and Planetary Institute (LPI)
The Lunar and Planetary Institute is a research institute that provides support services to NASA and the planetary science community, and conducts planetary science research under the leadership of staff scientists, visiting researchers, and postdoctoral fellows.
-
MIT Center for Space Research
MIT's major space research programs in cosmology, astrophysics and flight experiments
-
Satellite Industry Association
The Satellite Industry Association (SIA) is a Washington D.C. based trade association representing the leading global satellite operators, service providers, manufacturers, launch services providers, and ground equipment suppliers
-
Space Foundation
The Space Foundation is one of the world's premier nonprofit organizations supporting space activities, space professionals and education
-
The Mars Society
TThe Mars Society's goal is the exploration and settlement of Mars
Space Sciences: Smithsonian Institution Resources
-
Air & Space Magazine
Research and popular subjects in aviation and space history
-
Featured Exhibitions at the National Air and Space Museum
Information on current exhibitions at NASM
- National Air and Space Society
Astronomy: Clubs, Departments and Societies
-
Amateur Astronomomy Clubs and Organizations
Astronomical Society of the Pacific's site listing amateur astronomy clubs and organizations
-
Astronomical League
The Astronomical League is composed of over two hundred and forty local amateur astronomical societies from all across the United States, whose basic goal is to encourage astronomy interest
-
Astronomy Clubs
Astronomy club map
-
Astronomy Clubs Direcrtory: United States
Searchable directory of astronomy clubs located in the United States
-
Astronomy Clubs of the World
Site listing astronomy clubs and societies worldwide
-
Index of American Astronomical Societies
Index of astronomical societies located in the United States of America
-
Index of Astronomical Societies
Index of International astronomical societies
-
Physics and Astronomy Departments Worldwide Directory
Directory of physics and astronomy departments worldwide
