Subject Guide
American Art Museum/National Portrait Gallery Library
American Art
- A Treasury of World's Fair Art & Architecture
- American Memory
- American Studies Association
- Art Museum Network
- Art on Film Online
- Artcyclopedia
- Artnet
- Artsource
- AskArt
- Association of Historians of American Art
- Biography.com
- Catalog of American Portraits; select Portrait Search
- Infoplease
- The National Museum of American Illustration
- Victorian Society in America
- Victorian Web
American Art & Portraiture
American Craft
- American Craft Council
- Arts & Crafts Society
- Museum of Arts and Design
- Renwick Gallery of American Craft
- SI Craft Show
E-Journals
Exhibitions and Museums
General Resources on American Art
Historic Sites
Historical Societies
- Boston Athenaeum
- Chicago Historical Society
- Historic New Orleans Collection
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- Hoover Institution: Library and Archives
- New York Historical Society
Museums: American Art & Portraiture
- Addison Gallery of American Art
- American Folk Art Museum
- Amon Carter Museum
- Brandywine River Museum
- Butler Institute of American Art
- Delaware Museum of Art
- Georgia O’Keefe Museum
- Getty Museum
- Gilcrease Museum
- Historic New Orleans Collection
- National Academy
- National Gallery of Art
- National Museum of American Illustration
- National Portrait Gallery
- Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts
- Terra Foundation for American Art
National Portrait Galleries
- National Portrait Gallery, Canberra, Australia
- National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution
- Portrait Gallery of Canada
- Scottish National Portrait Gallery
Other Links
- Art Museum Network
- Art on Film Online
- Artnet
- ArtSource
- AskArt
- Journal of Contemporary Art
- Maine Antique Digest
- National Endowment for the Arts
- National Portrait Gallery
- Smithsonian American Art Museum
- The Artcyclopedia
- Web Virtual Library: Museums
Portraiture Societies
Professional Appraisers Organizations
Smithsonian Institution Resources
- Archives of American Art
- Art Index and Art Full Text; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- ArtBibliographies Modern; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- Bibliography of the History of Art; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- Catalog of American Portraits; select Collections Search
- Design & Applied Arts Index; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- Grove Dictionary of Art; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- HarpWeek: Harper’s Weekly; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals; select Citations & Full-Text Databases
- Inventory of American Paintings/Inventory of American Sculpture; select American Art Research
- Juley Photographic Collection; select American Art Research
