Subject Guide
Anacostia Community Museum Library
Art and Culture
-
African American Art & Culture Complex
The African American Art and Culture Complex (AAACC) is a community based, 501©3 arts and cultural organization. Our mission is to empower our community through Afro-centric artistic and cultural expression, mediums, education and programming.
- African American Art on the Internet
-
Art Access: African American Art
The Art Institute of Chicago's collection of African American art provides a rich introduction to over 100 years of noted achievements in painting, sculpture, and printmaking. Ranging Chronologically from the Civil War era to the Harlem Renaissance and from the civil-rights struggles following World War II to the contemporary period, these works constitute a dynamic visual legacy.
- The Black Renaissance in Washington D.C.
Books
Children's Literature
- "Examining African-American Culture Through the Use of Children's Literature"
- "Powerful African-American Images Revealed in Picture Books"
- African-American Voices in Children's Fiction
- Black Books Galore!
- Coretta Scott King Book Awards
- Multicultural Children's Literature
- The Augusta Baker Collection of African-American Children's Literature & Folklore
-
The Brown Bookshelf
The Brown Bookshelf is designed to push awareness of the myriad of African American voices writing for young readers.
- The Library of Congress Children's Literature Center
- Tulsa County Library: African American Children's Fiction Authors
Electronic Discussion Groups
Exhibits
- Captive Passage: The Transatlantic Slave Trade and the Making of the Americas
- Confederate Currency: The Color of Money
- The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide
-
The Black Press: Soldiers Without Swords
Presented by PBS. Welcome to a Timeline of The Black Press. From the publication of the first African-American newspaper in 1827, the pioneering men and women of the black press have given voice to stories and events that would otherwise have gone undocumented. We have created a timeline of some of the most significant events that occurred during the history of the black press. Look here to discover when, Freedom's Journal - the first black newspaper - was founded, or the dates for historic events such as the March on Washington or the Red Summer Riots of 1919.
- Without Sanctuary: Photographs and Postcards of Lynching in America
Film and Video
- African American Perspectives Video Collection
- Film Life
- Filmakers Library
- The African American Cinema Gallery
General Interest Websites
- African American Web Connection
- African American World
- Africana.com
- BlackAmericaWeb.com
-
Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Formerly "Black Issues in Higher Education."
-
Little Africa
LittleAfrica.com expands the market for resources, products and services that cater to and empower African Americans. Founded in 1997, our business was inspired by the early 1900's affluent, all-black community in North Tulsa, Oklahoma which was once commonly referred to as "Black Wall Street" or "Little Africa". "Little Africa", which served as the home for several African American millionaires, was tragically bombed in 1921 -- marking the beginning of the end of one of the most successful models for economically empowered black communities in U.S. history. LittleAfrica.com's mission is to create a NEW community that takes advantage of the incredible potential of the Internet to economically empower African Americans.
- Nia Online
-
The African American Experience
An American Mosaic Online Resource The African American Experience (AAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora.
History
- Aboard the Underground Railroad: A National Register Travel Itinerary
- African American World: A PBS Guide to African American History & Culture
-
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves.
- Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
-
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings.
-
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
The Schomburg Center. Presents more than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps. The Web site is organized around thirteen defining migrations that have formed and transformed African America and the nation. In addition, each migration has ab bibliography (references) and a gateway of related Web sites.
-
Mapping the African American Past (MAAP)
Mapping the African American Past is the product of a grant from the JPMorgan Chase Foundation. The site was produced by the Columbia Center for New Media Teaching and Learning (CCNMTL) in partnership with Columbia University's Teachers College and Creative Curriculum Initiatives (CCI).
- The Avalon Project at Yale Law School - African American Biography & History
- The Encyclopedia Britannica Guide to Black History
-
The USF Africana Heritage Project
The USF Africana Heritage Project is an all-volunteer research project and website sponsored by the Africana Studies department at the University of South Florida. Our research mission is to rediscover records that document the names and lives of slaves, freedpersons and their descendants, and share those records on our free Internet site.
- Through the Lens of Time: Images of African Americans from the Cook Collection
- Virginia Runaways - Univ of Virginia
Libraries Research Centers and Collections
- African American Museum & Library at Oakland, CA
-
American Civil Rights Institute
Based in Sacramento, California, the American Civil Rights Institute is a nationally recognized civil rights organization created to educate the public about racial and gender preferences.
- Amistad Research Center, New Orleans, LA
- Archives of African American Music and Culture, Bloomington, IN
-
Association for the Study of African American Life and History
Established on September 9, 1915 by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, we are the Founders of Black History Month and carry forth the work of our founder, the Father of Black History. ASALH's mission is to create and disseminate knowledge about Black History, to be, in short, the nexus between the Ivory Tower and the global public. We labor in the service of Black folks and all humanity.
- Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture, Charleston, SC
- Blair-Caldwell African American Research Library, Denver, CO
- Center for Black Music Research Library Resources, Chicago, IL
- Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection - Temple University
- Documenting the American South - UNC Library, Chapel Hill, NC
- Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, MD
- George Washington Univ. - Africana Research Center, Washington, DC
- Givens Collection of African American Literature - University of Minnesota
- Harold Washington Archives & Collections, Chicago, IL
- Harris Collection of African-American Literature - Brown University
- Howard University Libraries, Washington, DC
- Institute for Research in African-American Studies - Columbia Univ., New York, NY
- James Weldon Johnson Collection - Beinecke Library at Yale University
- John Henrik Clarke Africana Library - Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
- Library of Congress - American Memory Historical Collections, Washington, DC
- Louisville Western Library - African American Archives, Louisville, KY
- Moorland Spingarn Research Center - Howard University
-
National Center for the Study of Civil Rights and African-American Culture
The Mission of the Alabama State University Center for the Study of Civil Rights and African-American Culture is two-fold: to serve as a clearinghouse for information concerning Montgomery, Alabama's pivotal role in the shaping and development of the modern civil rights movement, and to preserve and disseminate information reflective of socioeconomic conditions, political culture, and history of African-Americans in Montgomery.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York, NY
- Stanford University Libraries - "Information Resources on African American Studies"
- The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition - Yale Univ.
-
The John Hope Franklin Research Center for African and African American History and Culture
The John Hope Franklin Research Center is a repository for African and African American studies documentation and an educational outreach division of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.
- UMass Amherst Libraries - Afro American Studies Research Guide
- Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature, Chicago, IL
- W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for Afrom-American Research - Harvard University
- Washington DC Historical Society -
Museums Historical Sites and Cultural Institutions
- African-American Civil War Memorial, Washington, DC
- Alexandria Black History Museum
- Association of African American Museums, Wilberforce, OH
- Banneker Douglass Museum, Annapolis, MD
- Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Birmingham, AL
-
Bronzeville Children's Museum
Chicago, IL. The first and only African-American children's museum in the country.
- California African American Museum, Los Angeles, CA
- Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, Detroit, MI
- Chattanooga African American Museum, Chattanooga, TN
-
DuSable Museum of African American History
Chicago, IL. The DuSable Museum of African American History, the first and oldest institution of its kind in the country, has been dedicated to the collection, preservation, interpretation and dissemination of the history and culture of Africans and Americans of African descent for more than 46 years.
- Frederick Douglass National Historic Site, Washington, DC
- Hampton University Museum, Hampton, VA
- Harrison Museum of African American Culture, Roanoke, VA
-
Harvey B. Gantt Center for African American Arts and Culture
Located in the heart of Uptown Charlotte, October 2009 marked the opening of the Afro-American Cultural Center as the Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts + Culture. The naming of the new facility is in honor of Harvey Bernard Gantt, a well-respected community leader and businessman. Charlotte, NC
- Howard University Gallery of Art, Washington, DC
- James E. Lewis Museum of Art - Morgan State Univ., Baltimore, MD
- Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site, Atlanta, GA
- Mary McLeod Bethune Council House National Historic Site, Washington, DC
- Museum of African American Cinema, New York, NY
- Museum of Afro-American History, Boston, MA
-
Museum of the African Diaspora
As a dynamic, world class institution, MoAD brings people of all ages, ethnicities and backgrounds together so they can enjoy, study and appreciate, through enriching exhibitions, public and educational programs, the culture, history and art of people of African descent within the United States and throughout the world. MoAD is uniquely positioned as one of the only museums in the world focused exclusively on African diaspora culture and on presenting the rich cultural products of the people of Africa and of African descendant cultures across the globe.
- National Afro-American Museum & Cultural Center, Wilberforce, OH
- National Civil Rights Museum, Memphis, TN
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, Cincinnati, OH
- National Underground Railroad Museum, Maysville, KY
- Negro Leagues Baseball Museum, Kansas City, Missouri
- Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African American History & Culture, Baltimore, MD
- Society for the Preservation of Weeksville and Bedford-Stuyvesant History, Brooklyn, NY
- The African American Museum in Philadelphia, PA
-
The Black Academy of Arts and Letters
Dallas, TX. TBAAL is a multi-discipline arts organization whose mission is to create and enhance an awareness and understanding of artistic, cultural and aesthetic differences utilizing the framework of African, African-American and Caribbean Arts and Letters. Additionally, its purpose is to promote, foster, cultivate, perpetuate and preserve the Arts and Letters of Africans, African-Americans and Caribbean in the Fine, Literary and Performing Arts.
- The Black Fashion Museum, Washington, DC
- The Black History Museum and Cultural Center, Richmond, VA
- The Delta Blues Museum, Clarksdale, MS
- The Great Blacks in Wax Museum, Baltimore, MD
- The Herndon Home Museum, Atlanta, GA
- The King Center, Atlanta, GA
- The Newsome House Museum and Cultural Center, Newport News, VA
- The Studio Museum in Harlem, New York
-
Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site
In the 1940's Tuskegee, Alabama became home to a "military experiment" to train America's first African-American military pilots. In time the "experiment" became known as the Tuskegee Experience and the participants as the Tuskegee Airmen.
Music
-
African American Sheet Music, 1850 - 1920
Library of Congress. This collection consists of 1,305 pieces of African-American sheet music dating from 1850 through 1920. The collection includes many songs from the heyday of antebellum black face minstrelsy in the 1850s and from the abolitionist movement of the same period.
-
Africlassical
Here you will meet 52 composers, conductors and instrumental performers - Africans, African Americans and Afro-Europeans.
- Afrocentric Voices in 'Classical' Music
- Archives of African American Music and Culture
-
Black Gospel Music Restoration Project
Baylor University. Can listen online. The purpose of this project is to identify, acquire, preserve, record and catalogue the most at-risk music from the black gospel music tradition. This collection will primarily contain 78s, 45s, LPs, and the various tape formats issued in the United States and abroad between the 1940s and the 1980s.
- Center for Black Music Research
- Essence Music Festival
- Gospel Music Association
- Gospel Music Hall of Fame
- Institute of Jazz Studies
- Music in Latin America
- New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival
- William Grant Still Collection
Newspapers Magazines Journals
- African-American Archaeology Newsletter
-
Afro
DC African American newspaper.
- Afro-American Historical & Genealogical Society Journal
- Afro-Hispanic Review
- Black Enterprise Online
- Black Issues Book Review
- Black Journalism Review Online
- Black Press USA
- Black Renaissance Noire
- Diverse Issues in Higher Education
- E-Black Studies - African American Journals
- Ebony/Jet Magazines Online
- Essence Online
- Final Call Online
-
Freedom's Journal
All 103 issues available digitally from the Wisconsin Historical Society. Freedom's Journal provided international, national, and regional information on current events and contained editorials declaiming slavery, lynching, and other injustices. The Journal also published biographies of prominent African-Americans and listings of births, deaths, and marriages in the African-American New York community. Freedom's Journal circulated in 11 states, the District of Columbia, Haiti, Europe, and Canada.
- Journal of Black Studies
- Langston Hughes Review
- Savoy Magazine Online
- SCLC Magazine
- Slavery and Abolition: A Journal of Slave and Post-Slave Studies
- Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture & Society
- The Afro American Newspapers (includes Washington DC AFRO)
- The Black Collegian Online
- Transforming Anthropology: The Association of Black Anthropologists
- Vibe Magazine
- Western Journal of Black Studies
- Wisconsin Historical Society - African-American Newspapers & Periodicals
Organizations and Associations
- Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc.
- Association for the Study of African American Life and History [ASALH]
- Association of African American Museums
- Black Caucus of the American Library Association [BCALA]
- Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Inc.
-
International Association of African American Music
The International Association of African American Music Foundation is a 16-year-old non-profit organization based in the Philadelphia area. The IAAAM Foundation's mission is the perpetuation and preservation of Black music and culture throughout the United States and around the world.
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People [NAACP]
-
National Association of Black Journalists
The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide. Founded by 44 men and women on December 12, 1975, in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation.
- National Council of Negro Women
- National Urban League
- Southern Christian Leadership Conference [SCLC]
