Subject Guide - Anthropology Library
A Career in Archaeology in the United States - FAQ
Addresses the issues of job availability and potential employment, educational requirements, and how to volunteer for a dig. It also contains references to sources for background information in the field of archaeology.
A Mesoamerican Archaeology WWW Page
This site holds a broad range of sources of topical information, including announcements, newsgroups and listservers, software, and pictures.
A resource focusing on the ancient Near East, Abzu gives access to a number of digitized texts and other online publications. Edited by Charles E. Jones, Research Archivist-Bibliographer at the University of Chicago's Oriental Institute, the site allows one to locate and display desired sources either by entering terms in a search engine or by browsing by author or title.
ArchNet - Resources for Archaeology
Well-organized and easily navigated, this site provides extensive coverage of online resources for archaeology. Resources are organized by region and subject area, but also by categories that include academic departments, museums, news, and journals and publishers. The site likewise offers a question-and-answer section and a search engine.
Center for Desert Archaeology
The Center, a private nonprofit organization, promotes stewardship of archaeological and historical resources in the American Southwest and Mexican Northwest through active research, preservation, and public education. Its website includes links to online exhibits, news and newsletters, descriptions of projects, a bookstore, and various resources.
Corpus of Maya Hieroglyphic Inscriptions
Produced by Harvard University's Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, this website provides an invaluable source of information about ancient Maya inscriptions and their associated figurative art.
Egyptology on the Web
This website provides numerous links to sources of information about ancient Egypt.
Maryland Historical Trust - Archeology Program
Offers a glimpse into the research being done by this organization in their terrestrial and underwater archaeology programs.
Mediterranean Archaeology Resources
Developed by a classical archaeologist, Ioannis Georganas, this site provides a useful compilation of links to journals, bibliographies, online resources, and organizations relating to the ancient Mediterranean.
National Association of State Archaeologists
Clicking on the name of a state of the United States displays the name and address of that state's official archaeologist.
National Park Service: Archeology Program
This site offers multiple sources of information about prehistoric and historic North American archaeology, including reports on Kennewick Man and links to federal laws and regulations, as well as to standards relating to cultural resources.
National Park Service: National Archeological Database (NADB)
With links to three modules---reports, maps, and permits---the NADB offers inventories of more than 350,000 archaeological investigations, maps displaying archaeological and environmental data at the state/county level, and historical and regulatory information about archaeological permits issued by the Department of Interior. It can be searched by keyword, material, and geographic area.
Upper Paleolithic Caves of France
Websites produced by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication enable viewers to take virtual tours of three marvelous cave sites famed for their prehistoric wall paintings: Lascaux closed to visitors since 1963; Chauvet, discovered in 1994; and La Grotte Cosquer, located on the Mediterranean coast and accessible only to divers.
Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletin Series Home Page: SI LIbraries
Includes introduction to the electronic editions and three full-text publications: Bulletin 159 (John C. Ewers,
Consolidated Docket No. 317, Defendant Exhibits 61-171 Dft. Ex. 62
Selected pages from BAE Bulletin 30, Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico.
First Nations Tribal Collection
Part of SODA (Southern Oregon Digial Archives) consisting of materials relating to indigenous people in this region. Contains excerpts from some BAE publications. Adobe Reader is required to view document.
Francis La Flesche: American Indian Scholar
Reproduced from Folklife Center News 4 (Jan1981):1, 10-11. Life history of BAE ethnologist (1910-1929) who worked extensively on Omaha and music and rituals of the Osage. Includes photos of him and some prominent Osage figures. American Folklife Center, Library of Congress.
Frank Hamilton Cushing
Biographical sketch with photo concentrating on the period he spent with the Zuni Pueblo people . Maintained by PBS Online.
Gallica, bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
Part of the online library of the National Library of France. Includes full-text BAE Annual Reports from v.1 (year 1879-1880) through v. 48 (year 1930-1931). Once you are in, click Recherche and type Bureau of American Ethnology into the Mots du titre space and click rechercher. Click on top icon associated with the BAE Annual Report to see complete list.
General Nelson A. Miles on the Sioux Outbreak of 1890
Excerpts from James Mooney article titled "Ghost Dance Religion and the Sioux Outbreak of 1890" published in BAE Annual Report 14(2). Includes I : Statement of General Miles; II; Reports forwarded by Brigadier-General Ruger, commanding, Department of Dakota; and III. Field Dispatches of General Miles.
Guide to the Collections of the National Anthropological Archives
Look under the 'B' listings for information about the NMNH collections of BAE material including records, photographs, illustrations, etc.
A short biography of BAE long time member and Chief (1918-1928). Concentrating on his Mesoamerican archaeological career. Part of Smithsonian Expeditions website.
Jesse Walter Fewkes [1850-1930]
A short blurb on Jesse Fewkes as well as one further link about the recording technique used by Fewkes.
John Wesley Powell, Major, United States Army
Several obituaries from news reports and a longer article on his life contributions. Photos of Powell, his wife, his appointment as Director of the U.S.G.S. and his grave stone. From Arlington National Cemetery website.
Lakota Accounts of the Massacre at Wounded Knee
Extracts from report of meeting between Sioux and Commissioner of Indian Affairs, Feb 11, 1891. Taken from James Mooney's article "Ghost Dance Religion and the Sioux Outbreak of 1890" published in BAE Annual Report 14(2). Part of PBS Online's New Perspectives on the West.
Lost in the Grand Canyon
Website accompanying film. Includes a timeline of trip, map with dates and journal entries, short bios, information about Grand Canyon geology, teacher's guide, etc.
Minnesota Author Biographies Project: Frances Densmore
A short biography of Frances Densmore as well as a list of selected works and additional resources. Maintained by the Minnesota Historical Society.
Native American Authors: Francis La Flesche
A site maintained by the University of Michigan School of Information. Includes basic information on Francis La Flesche as well as a short listing of his published works.
Native American Traders
Native American Traders has quite a few BAE annual reports and bulletins for sale. A search for 'Bureau of Ethnology' provides best results.
ODAAT: one day at a time... John Wesley Powell archive
Created to honor the 100th anniversary of Powell's death, this site proviedes information about Powell's life and work. Contains a number of photographs of the areas he surveyed as well as of Powell himself.
Omaha Indian Music
The "American Memory" program of the Library of Congress is a large collection of recordings of Omaha Indian music including 44 recordings made by Francis La Flesche and Alice C. Fletcher among others.
River of Song: Music Along the River
A description of Frances Densmore and Alice Fletcher's efforts to record Native American music. Created by PBS Online.
Song Catcher Frances Densmore
Contains a great deal of information about Frances Densmore, including an article about her and the script of her radio biography.
Stevenson, Matilda Coxe Evans
A concise biography of Matilda Coxe Evans Stevenson presented by Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Tales of the North American Indians
Contains fragmented stories from BAE reports vi, xiii, xiv, xxxi, and xxxii as printed in Tales of the North American Indians compiled by Stith Thompson.
A description of the early years of the BAE with an emphasis on Powell. Produced by the Smithsonian Institution.
The Battle of Little Bighorn
A PBS transcribed section of the BAE 10th Annual Report. The text is an eyewitness account of the Battle of Little Bighorn from Lakota Chief Red Horse, recorded by Garrick Mallery.
The Collection of Native American Photographs
The University of Oxford's Pitt Rivers Museum offers a discussion of photography at the time of the BAE.
The Ghost Dance Among the Lakota
An eyewitness account of a performance of the Ghost Dance, recorded by James Mooney. From the 14th Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology.
The Indian Ghost Dance and War
This song, popular among American troops during the "Sioux Outbreak" campaign of 1890, was recorded by James Mooney in the 14th Annual Report of the BAE.
The Kurz Sketchbook
Contains 48 plates of sketches by Rudolph Friederich Kurz originally published in the BAE Bulletin 115.
The Thirtieth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnography
An excerpt of the Thirtieth Annual Report of the BAE entitled "Ethnobotony of the Zuni Indians" by Matilda Coxe Stevenson. Adobe Reader is necessary to view this document.
Thorn Books has a number of BAE annual reports for sale. Enter BAE into the search field for best results.
William Duncan Strong
Information on William Duncan Strong and selections from his field journal.
William Henry Holmes
A short biography of William Henry Holmes as maintained by the Smithsonian Institution.
Wovoka's Message: The Promise of the Ghost Dance
A translation of Wovoka's "The Messiah Letter," found in the BAE's 14th Annual Report.
General Anthropology Resources
American Anthropology Obituary Index
Drawing from obituaries in the American Anthropologist and Anthropology Newsletter, David Price of St. Martin's College has produced this useful list of obituaries of American anthropologists.
Anthropological Index Online (AIO)
The AIO is a searchable database that provides bibliographic records of articles in periodicals housed in the Anthropology Library at the Centre for Anthropology, British Museum, which incorporates the library of the Royal Anthropological Institute. The database is especially strong in British and European publications relating to anthropology, ethnology, and archaeology. Articles indexed date from the 1960s to the present day.
Smithsonian staff may search <I>Anthropology Plus</I>, one of the Citation & Full-Text Databases accessible through the Tools for the Researcher webpage of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Available only to staff and students at subscribing institutions, <I>Anthropology Plus</I> combines the bibliographic records of journal articles and monographic series held by the Tozzer Library at Harvard, many of which date back to the middle of the nineteenth century, with those included in <I>Anthropology Index Online</I>.
Anthropology Resources on the Internet
This site, made available by the American Anthropological Association, has an abundance of links to anthropology-related Internet sites worldwide. Of particular interest is an extensive list of organizations and institutes, as well as a comprehensive list of discussion goups.
Documentary Educational Resources
Anthropology-related documentary films and books on documentary films and film-making are available from this source. Its pages include a searchable index and detailed ordering instructions. After clicking on a topic or initiating a search, scroll down to view the results.
International Cultural Property Protection
A website of the U.S. Department of State, this source provides international news concerning protection of cultural property, information about implementation of the international Convention on Cultural Property Implementation Act by the U.S., and online text of pertinent U.S. statutes and international agreements.
Yahoo - Anthropology and Archaeology
An extensive set of numerous links to websites relating to anthropology and anthropologists.
Languages of the Americas
Through its homepage, the <i>Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA)</i> gives access to a number of sources relating to American Indian languages: its monthly bulletin and quarterly newsletter, a listing of journal articles, and websites.
Mayan Epigraphic Database Project
A working document designed to provide primary and secondary sources for Mayan epigraphy, it currently includes an online catalog of Maya Glyphs, resources for Mayanists, and instructions on how to contribute to the MED project sponsored in part by the Department of Anthropology at the University of Virginia.
The website of this organization, formerly known as the <i>Summer Institute of Linguistics</i>, gives information about its publications, software packages and workshops, as well as links to electronic texts such as the 16th edition of Ethnologue (2009), a catalog of the world's languages. <i>Ethnologue</i> provides classifications, lists, and geographic distributions of the world's languages. The Internet version includes clickable maps, language name and language family indexes, bibliography, and it is fully searchable by language, region, country or general keyword.
Yamada Language Center
Offered by the University of Oregon's service and technology center for language teaching and learning, this site offers links to numerous languages.
This page enables one to access online dictionaries, linguistic games, and <a href="http://www.yourdictionary.com/grammars.html"><b>online grammars</b></a> of, and lessons in, a multitude of languages.
Native American Resources
American Indian Health
The National Library of Medicine's information portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of Native Americans provides links to tribal information, health topics, traditional healing, environmental health, government websites, publications research, healthcare access, and other related websites.
American Indian Society of Washington, DC
The homepage of the pan-tribal organization of American Indians in the area of Washington, DC gives information about the society's officers and staff, goals, social activities, and upcoming events.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection
Developed by the University of Washington Libraries, this site provides a sizeable digital collection of original photographs and documents relating to Native American cultures of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Digitized documents include maps, treaties, reports, and scholarly articles, all of which are complemented by essays on particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
Early Canadiana Online (ECO)/Notre Mémoire en Ligne
Produced by Canadiana.org, ECO is a searchable full text collection of primary materials documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the early 20th century. The collection includes many dictionaries, grammars, and vocabulary lists of Native languages, besides travel accounts, missionaries' reports, and other imprints related to American Indians. Its excellent search engine facilitates retrieval of desired materials. Free access to documents is not available for the entire collection.
Indian Health Service (IHS)
The website of the IHS, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides information about health and health care of Native Americans.
Native American Sites
A comprehensive collection of links to Native American sites on the Internet, compiled and organized by Lisa Mitten, a Native American librarian.
SODA: Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Produced by the Southern Oregon University Library, SODA contains the Southern Oregon History Collection; the Bioregion Collection, covering the bioregion of Southern Oregon Klamath-Siskiyou; and the First Nations Collection, consisting of documents, books, and articles pertaining to the region's native inhabitants. One can search the collections for particular authors and titles.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
Made available through the <i>Digital Library of Georgia</i>, a segment of that state's online <i>Galileo</i> system, this searchable and browsable site provides access to hundreds of digitized documents and images concerning the Native American peoples of the southeastern United States. To access the database, (1) display the <a href="http://galileo.peachnet.edu/"> <b>Galileo</b></a> homepage,(2) Log in as "guest." (3) click on <i>Digital Library of Georgia</i>, (4) select <i>Peoples & Cultures</i> listed on the left of the window, (5) scroll down and click on <i> Southeastern Native American Documents</i>, then (6) either search using key terms or browse by collection, date, institution, or type.
The Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition
Sponsored by the University of Nebraska Press, the Center for Great Plains Studies, and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries Electronic Text Center, this website gives online access to the celebrated Nebraska edition of the Lewis and Clark journals, edited by Gary E. Moulton. Though the project is now only in its beginning stages, it aims to make available the entire text of the journals -- almost 5000 pages. Besides the text the website features images as well as audio files of readings of passages from the journals.
- American Anthropological Association
- American Antiquity
- American Association of Physical Anthropologists
- American Board of Forensic Anthropology
- American Museum of Natural History (New York)
- Anthropological Linguistics
- Anthropology Today
- Archaeological Institute of America
- Archaeology and Public Education Newsletter
- Archaeology Magazine
- Association of College and Research Libraries - Anthropology and Sociology Section
- Autry National Center (Los Angeles)
- Bishop Museum (Honolulu)
- British Archaeology
- Bulletin of the World Health Organization
- Cambridge University Press
- Canadian Museum of Civilization
- CoPAR - Council for the Preservation of Anthropological Records
- Council for British Archaeology
- Cultural Dynamics
- Current Anthropology
- Current Archaeology
- Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
- Field Museum of Natural History
- Harvard University
- Heard Museum: Native Culture and Art
- Human Organization
- Indiana University Press
- Internet Archaeology
- Journal of Field Archaeology
- Journal of Material Culture
- Journal of Roman Archaeology
- Journal of the Royal Anthropological Society
- KMT: A Modern Journal of Ancient Egypt
- Latin American Antiquity
- Linguistic Society of America
- Museum of Indian Arts and Culture/Laboratory of Anthropology (Santa Fe)
- Museum of Paleontology - U C Berkeley
- National Association of State Archaeologists
- Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
- Northwestern University
- Oriental Institute Museum (Chicago)
- Oxbow Books / David Brown Book Company
- Oxford University Press
- Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology (Harvard)
- Peabody Museum of Natural History at Yale University
- Phoebe Hearst Museum of Anthropology - U.C. Berkeley
- Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland
- SAA Archaeological Record
- SAA Bulletin (1993 - 2000)
- Sage Publications
- SAR Press
- Society for American Archaeology
- Society for Applied Anthropology
- Society for Historical Archaeology
- Society for Medical Anthropology
- Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas
- Society for Visual Anthropology
- University of Arizona Press
- University of California at Berkeley
- University of California Press
- University of Chicago
- University of Chicago Press
- University of Florida
- University of Hawaii Press
- University of Illinois Press
- University of Michigan Museum of Anthropology
- University of Michigan Press
- University of Nebraska Press
- University of Oklahoma Press
- University of Pennsylvania
- University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology
- University of Texas at Austin
- University of Texas Press
- University of Utah Press
- University Press of Colorado
- University Press of Florida
- Visual Anthropology Review
- Yale University
- Yale University Press
Biological Anthropology Web
Provides an extensive collection of links to information about conferences and workshops, news sites, homepages of organizations and archives, as well as a selection of online book reviews.
The virtual images offered by this website enable one to view and compare bones of human, baboon, and gorilla skeletons. The Project also provides an online glossary of descriptive anatomical terms.
WWW Virtual Library for evolution. The website contains numerous links to sources on topics ranging from general evolutionary theory to molecular evolution, besides information on professional society meetings, academic departments, museums and online journals.
Human Origins Program
Describes the Smithsonian Human Origins Program, offers a virtual tour of the Hall of Human Ancestors in the National Museum of Natural History, reports recent findings in paleoanthropology, enables a user to e-mail the Smithsonian paleoanthropologists questions about human origins, and provides links to related websites.
Institute of Human Origins (IHO)
The Web pages of the Institute, located at Arizona State University, provide information about the research and educational activities of its staff, world tours, and some related websites. It also features a discussion of the famous early hominid Lucy.
Primate Info Net
From the Wisconsin Regional Primate Research Center at the University of Wisconsin - Madison. The site offers links to numerous resources on primatology. Among these resources are primate "factsheets," news and publications, directories, taxonomic information, veterinary sites, educational materials, and still more.
Welcome to the Skull Module!
Produced by the Department of Anthropology at California State University - Chico. Graphical presentation of the human skull accompanied by a glossary of related terms.
Written in Bone: Forensic Files of the 17th-Century Chesapeake
A fascinating forensic investigation of skeletal remains of 17th-century colonists of Jamestown and inhabitants of St. Mary's City, Maryland. The website accompanies an exhibition offered by the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History until February 6, 2011.
Smithsonian Institution Resources
Offers a dynamic, virtual tour of the African Voices exhibition in the National Museum of Natural History. The site enables the visitor to explore the history of Africa, themes in the exhibition, and the work of a master carver, as well as to obtain a bibliography of published works on Africa and to link to related websites.
Anthropology Conservation Laboratory
The Laboratory's website offers information about access to the anthropological collections of the Smithsonian, a statement of sampling policy, and links to other sites concerned with conservation and preservation. It also gives online access to back issues of the ICOM Ethnographic Conservation Newsletter.
Anthropology Department, National Museum of Natural History
At this site one can find information about the Department's research and collections, links to online exhibitions and research programs, news about the Department members' current field work and recently published books, a list of publications (1990 - 2000) of the Department, public information, and a history of the Department.
Anthropology on the Internet for K-12
Expressly designed for teachers and students interested in anthropology, whether in kindergarten or twelfth grade, this site provides a broadly useful compilation of Internet sources for archaeology, social/cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, linguistics, and area studies, as well as links to museums, virtual exhibits, electronic publications, and professional associations.
Anthropology Outreach Office
Emphasizing public and educational information, the website of the Anthropology Department's Outreach Office offers numerous online, printable teachers' packets, bibliographies, and guides to various anthropological topics. Noteworthy is AnthroNotes, the biannual publication for teachers. The mission of the Outreach Office is to provide teachers resources for integrating anthropology into the K - 12 curriculum.
Representing a program focusing on the earliest domestication of plants and animals and the development of agricultural economies, this website contains information about the program's collections, staff, and research, as well as links to numerous topically related online information sources.
Archaeology, Ethnology and Physical Anthropology Collections
This site enables users to apply to visit stored Smithsonian anthropological collections, to request catalog information, to order photographs, and to contact research staff.
Arctic Studies Center
Presents information on the Center's research projects and publications. A virtual exhibit takes you through the halls of cyberspace with images, text, audio and video clips from native cultures of the Arctic, including those of the Vikings, Ainu, and peoples of northeastern Siberia and Alaska.
Benedicte Wrensted: An Idaho Photographer in Focus
Featuring Wrensted's remarkable black-and-white portraits - made between 1895 and 1912 - of Native Americans living in southeastern Idaho, this online Smithsonian exhibition includes fascinating biographical material on the photographer herself, as well as information about identification, interpretation, and historical background of the photographs.
Bibliothèque Nationale de France: Gallica
Gallica provides numerous BAE annual reports in full text. Enter in the search box, "Bureau of American Ethnology." Click on "Go." Scroll down to "Annual report ---." Scroll to the desired volume, then click on "Get the documents in Gallica."
By Aeroplane to Pygmyland: Revisiting the 1926 Dutch and American Expedition to New Guinea
Through interpretive essays, diaries, and photographs, this site portrays and examines the 1926 joint Dutch-American expedition to Dutch New Guinea (now called Papua, within the Republic of Indonesia).
Encyclopedia Smithsonian: Anthropology and Archaeology
This site is no longer active.
Handbook of North American Indians
The Handbook is a multivolume comprehensive encyclopedia of Native Americans living north of Mesoamerica. This site provides a list of titles - with volume numbers, publication dates, editors' names, brief descriptions of content, ISBN numbers, and prices - of the volumes that have been published. It also includes a link to the U.S. Government Online Bookstore, from which one can buy the volumes.
Human Origins Program
Describes the Smithsonian Human Origins Program, offers a virtual tour of the Hall of Human Ancestors in the National Museum of Natural History, reports the latest findings in paleoanthropology, enables a user to e-mail the Smithsonian paleoanthropologists questions about human origins, and provides links to related websites.
Ives Goddard's Home Page
In his home page, Smithsonian anthropological linguist Ives Goddard, a specialist in Alonquian languages, provides online access to several of his recent articles on Native American languages and linguistics. Among these articles are 'I am a Red-Skin': The Adoption of a Native American Expression (1769-1826), and The Identity of Red Thunder Cloud. The site also includes a link to A Meskwaki Winter Story, a video presentation of his translation of a Meskwaki folktale traditionally told in winter. The story is called The Married Couple: the Man Whose Wife Was Wooed by a Bear.
This online exhibit displays beautiful feather headdresses from South America that are a part of the Smithsonian collection which is not on public display, except via the Web. Includes photos and text.
National Anthropological Archives (NAA) and Human Studies Film Archives (HSFA)
These archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of the discipline. Their collections include manuscripts, fieldnotes, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video, all of which can be searched online. Selected finding aids are also available, as well as links to ethnographic archives and resources, sites about anthropologists, and the Guide to the Preservation of Anthropological Records. The site also features several online exhibits, including Lakota Winter Counts.
National Museum of the American Indian
Information on the collections and exhibits of the Smithsonian's newest museum, as well as publications and recordings, film and video, events and activities, and educational resources and programs.
Native American Repatriation Review Committee
The Review Committee was established by Congress to monitor and review the repatriation process at the Smithsonian. In carrying out its duties, the committee is required to ensure fair and objective consideration of all relevant evidence, upon request of any affected party, review any findings of cultural affiliation, and facilitate the resolution of any dispute between tribes concerning the repatriation of remains and objects. An especially useful feature of this site is its link to A Research Guide to the Native American Collections in the National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives.
Red Cloud's Manikin and His Uncle's Shirt: Historical Representation in the Museum as Seen Through Photo Analysis
This site presents a Smithsonian anthropologist's study of photographs of early manikins representing Plains Indians. The manikins were displayed in the Smithsonian Institution in the 1870s. The kinds of research required and the types of information that can be retrieved from historical photographs are exemplified through the analysis of these images.
This site gives detailed descriptions of the Office's functions, activities, and responsibilities; provides summaries of repatriation reports; and displays tables showing repatriation of archaeological and ethnological materials, as well as human remains.
SIL Digital Library: BAE Bulletin 159
The Horse in Blackfoot Indian Culture, first published in BAE Bulletin 159 (1955).
SIL Digital Library: BAE Bulletin 164
John C. Ewers: "Hair Pipes in Plains Indian Adornment," which originally appeared in BAE Bulletin 164 (1957)
SIL Digital Library: BAE Bulletin 200
BAE Bulletin 200 (1971) indexes by author, title, and selected subjects the published works of the Bureau of American Ethnology.
Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
The Folklife Center provides images and text from its recent events and exhibitions, including the Festival of American Folklife, and much more - notably, a description of the holdings of the Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections, searchable catalogs and digital downloads of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Through a series of virtual exhibits, this site offers a bilingual tour de force - in English or in Spanish - of 150 years of Smithsonian research and exploration in Latin America.
Smithsonian Museum Conservation Institute (MCI)
A rich source of information about conservation, preservation, and technical study and analysis of museum collections, this site also contains practical advice about taking care of various kinds of objects.
The Canela Indians of Northeastern Central Brazil
Visit the Canela Indians with a field ethnologist, and read about the challenges of conducting ethnographic research in a beautiful savannah setting. Let photos, videos, and descriptive writing enhance your understanding of Canela life. Views of festivals, sports and activities of individuals will develop your appreciation of the lifeways of the Canela. Find a literature section that gives you anthropological information about the Canela, and locate links to the Canela video “Mending Ways” and to on-going research by Brazilian experts.
The Search for a Past: The Prehistory of the Indigenous Saami in Northern Coastal Sweden
The origin of the Saami (also known as the Lapps) and their language and culture is a much debated issue in Nordic research. This colorful, well-organized site reports a Smithsonian archaeological project whose goal is to gather data that would help to resolve this issue. At the top of the introductory page are red icons bearing gold Saami symbols. The icons lead to information about the project's research team, statements of research objectives and hypotheses, and to sections on fieldwork, archaeological sites from periods of Saami prehistory, selective bibliography, and weblinks.
Unmasking the Maya: The Story of Sna Jtz'ibajom
Through a combination of photographs and text -- text available in English, Spanish, and two Maya languages -- this site offers a remarkable portrait of the Maya and their culture, both ancient and modern. It makes clear that the Maya, though the inheritors of a rich history, are a living, dynamic people. The site opens with a brief presentation of ancient Maya civilization, then shows contemporary Maya traditions, American influences, and the experiences of two Mayas in the United States in the 1960s. Next follows a view of the Maya cultural cooperative, Sna Jtz'ibajom, The House of the Writer, whose programs and plays represent a renaissance of Maya culture.
Vikings: the North Atlantic Saga
Based on a widely publicized and very successful exhibition held in 2000 in the National Museum of Natural History, this site offers a virtual tour and simulated Viking voyage for exploration of the history of the Vikings between A.D. 750 to A.D. 1500.
Written in Bone: Forensic Files of the 17th-Century Chesapeake
A fascinating forensic investigation of skeletal remains of 17th-century colonists of Jamestown and inhabitants of St. Mary's City, Maryland. The website accompanies an exhibition offered by the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History until February 6, 2011.
Written in Stone: Inscriptions from the National Museum of Saudi Arabia
This resource presents selected pre-Islamic and Islamic inscriptions from the Epigraphy Collections of Saudi Arabia's National Museum. Originally found carved or engraved on stones, mountains, or cliff faces throughout Saudi Arabia, these writings are like an open library of the region's cultural and linguistic heritage. Scripts used in the Arabian peninsula developed from the earliest pictograph-like Thamudic inscriptions into the monumental writing and calligraphic traditions of the Islamic period.
Kinship and Social Organization : an Interactive Tutorial
This online tutorial introduces the reader to the theory and terminology of kinship studies and provides ethnographic examples from the Yanomamo, ancient Hebrews, and a Turkish peasant village.
The Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing (CSAC)
Located at the University of Kent at Canterbury, England, the CSAC provides information on current research, selected text from the CSAC monograph series, and links to other anthropology-related sites.