Subject Guide
National Museum of Natural History Library
Atlases - Gazetteers - GIS and Maps
- Alexandria Digital Library Project (UC Santa Barbara)
- All the World's Maps (EmbassyWorld.com)
- Amazon GIS
- American Geographical Society Library (University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee)
- Americas Base Map (New York Botanical Garden)
- Ancient World Mapping Center
- Biodiversity and WORLDMAP (Natural History Museum UK)
- Biodiversity Hotspots
- Biodiversity: Measuring the Variety of Nature
- California Spatial Information Library
- Canada's Geographical Names
- Canadian Atlas Online
- Cartographic Boundary Files (US Census Bureau)
- Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies
- Center for Geographic Information Systems (Georgia Tech)
- Color Landform Atlas of the United States
- David Rumsey Map Collection
- Description of the Ecoregions of the United States
- Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in GIS, etc.
- Digital Map Collection (UC Berkeley Library)
- Digital Tectonic Activity Map (NASA)
- EarthExplorer (USGS)
- FAUNMAP Database
- General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO)
- GEO Data Portal (UNEP.Net)
- GeoCOMMUNITY
- Geographer's Craft (University of Colorado at Boulder)
- Geographic Information Systems (USGS)
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) (domestic names)
- Geographical Information Systems at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
- Geography Network
- GeoIndex (British Geological Survey)
- GEOnet Names Server (foreign names)
- Geospatial Engine (National Imagery and Mapping Agency)
- GeoVISTA Studio
- GeoWeb
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
- GIS and Mapping related sites
- GIS Dictionary
- GIS Internet Resources
- GIS Portal
- GIS WWW Server
- Global Land Cover Facility (University of Maryland)
- Global Warming: Early Warning Signs
- GRASS GIS
- Internet Resources for Geographers
- James Ford Bell Library (University of Minnesota)
- Library of Congress Online Map Collections
- Map and Geographical Collections (UCMP Berkeley)
- Marine Geoscience Data Link
- Millenium Coral Reefs Landsat Archive
- Mineral Resources On-Line Spatial Data
- NASM: CEPS: GPS: A New Constellation
- National GAP Analysis Program
- National Geographic Map Machine
- National Geologic Map Database (USGS)
- National Park Service Cartographic Resources
- NatureServe Data
- NMNH: Global Volcanism Program
- NMNH: Lewis & Clark Interactive Map
- NMNH: North American Mammals Map
- NMNH: Preliminary Vegetation Map of Guyana
- PaleoMap Project
- Places OnLine (Association of American Geographers)
- PROCIG - Central American Geographic Information Project
- Spatial Data (NOAA Coastal Services Center)
- TopoZone (maps)
- U.S. Digital Map Library
- U.S. Gazetteer (U.S. Census Bureau)
- United Nations Atlas of the Oceans
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) GRID Data sets
- University of California (Berkeley) Earth Sciences & Map Library
- USGS Astrogeology Research Program
- USGS Geography --the National Map
- World Map Collections
Bibliographies and Databases
- 2004 IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
- AGRIS/AGORA
- All Catfish Species Inventory
- American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
- Amphibian Species of the World
- Animal Geonome Size Database
- Annotated Bibliography--U.S. Navy's Marine Mammal Program
- Annotated List of the Seabirds of the World
- Antbase
- Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS)
- ARMI National Atlas for Amphibian Distributions
- ARS Bee Bibliography (USDA)
- Avibase -- The World Bird Database
- Bancroft Mineral Collection (University of California, Santa Barbara)
- Bibliography of Genetic Variation in Natural Populations
- BioCASE: A Biological Collection Access Service for Europe
- Biocomplexity Thesaurus (NBII)
- Biographical Etymology of Marine Organism Names (BEMON)
- Biological Inventories of the World's Protected Areas (I.C.E.)
- BioModels Database
- Bishop Museum Ichthyology Databases
- British Museum Compass Collections Online
- Butterflies & Moths of the World (Natural History Museum, UK)
- CABI Bioscience Databases
- Catalog of Fishes On-Line (California Academy of Sciences)
- Catalogue of Palaeontological Types in Austrian Collections
- Catalogue of the Fossil Flies of the World (Insecta: Diptera)
- CephBase
- CH/CNAAR Directory of Herpetologists
- Checklist of Amphibian Species and Identification Guide
- CITES-Listed Species Database
- Cladistic Literature (Society of Systematic Biologists)
- Cold Regions Bibliography (Library of Congress)
- CORIS: NOAA's Coral Reef Information
- Database of Zeolite Structures
- Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies: 1951 to 1975
- Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies: To 1950
- Earth Lab Datasite (Natural History Museum, UK)
- Earthref: Earth Reference Data and Models
- Echinoid Directory (Natural History Museum, UK)
- EcoPort: The Consilience Engine
- ECOTOX Database System (US EPA)
- Effects of Temperature on Invertebrates and Fish: A Selected Bibliography
- European Register of Marine Species
- Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 (Library of Congress)
- Fauna Europaea
- Flora and Fauna of the Great Lakes Region: A Multimedia Digital Project
- Florida Museum of Natural History Collection Databases
- FORMIS: A Master Bibliography of Ant Literature (USDA)
- Fossil Record 2
- Freshwater Mollusk Bibliography Database
- Freshwater Mussel (Unionoida) Genera of the World
- Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database
- Geologic Names Lexicon "GEOLEX" (USGS)
- GEOREF Preview Database
- GEOROC: Geochemistry of Rocks of the Ocean and Continents
- GEOSCAN Database (Geological Survey of Canada)
- Global Amphibian Assessment
- Global Invasive Species Database
- Global Lepidoptera Name Index (Natural History Museum, UK)
- Global OWL Project
- Global Register of Migratory Species (GROMS)
- GooseRef Bibliography System
- Herplit Database
- Index to Marine & Lacustrine Geological Samples (NOAA)
- INIST's Catalog of Articles and Monographs (France)
- International Field Guides
- International Shark Attack File
- Japanese Ant Image Database
- LarvalBase
- Library of Congress Science Tracer Bullets Online
- List of World Bumblebees (Natural History Museum, UK)
- Live Internet Seismic Server
- Macauley Library of Natural Sounds (Cornell)
- MAMMFAUN: A Bibliography
- Marine Organisms Database (Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole)
- MINDAT.ORG: The Mineral Database
- Mineral Gallery
- Mineral Resources On-line Spatial Data (USGS)
- Mineralogy Database
- Minerals Yearbook
- Museum Collections (UCMP Berkeley)
- Natural History Bibliographies
- NatureServe Explorer: An Online Encyclopedia of Life
- NMITA: Neogene Marine Biota of Tropical America
- Nomina Insecta Nearctica: A Checklist of the Insects of North America
- Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (USGS)
- North American Amphibian Monitoring Program and Database
- North American Breeding Bird Survey, 1966-2004
- NORTHWOODS Wildlife Habitat Database
- Ocean Expert: the Global Directory of Marine and Freshwater Professionals
- Online Termite Database
- Pacific Rim Biodiversity Catalog
- Paleobiology Database
- Paleobotanical Collection (University of Alberta)
- Phylogenetics Databases and Information (UCMP Berkeley)
- Phylogeny Programs
- Physical Characteristics of Minerals
- Primate Lit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology
- Quakeline Database
- Raptor Information System (USGS)
- ReefBase: A Global Information System on Coral Reefs
- Register of Ecological Models (REM) / ECOBAS Project
- Sea Turtle Online Bibliography
- Sea Turtles Publications (NOAA)
- Smithsonian Institution Libraries Citation and Full-Text Databases
- Smithsonian: NMNH: Databases & Bibliographies
- Smithsonian: SERC: Online Databases
- Smithsonian: Vertebrate Zoology: North American Mammals
- Species Identification and Data Programme (SIDP)
- Species Profile and Threat Database (Australia)
- Species Profiles: Life Histories ... Coastal Fishes and Invertebrates
- SPRILIB Antarctica Database
- Taxon Lift
- Taxonomic Resources and Expertise Directory: TRED (NBII)
- Texas Natural History Research Collections (Texas Memorial Museum)
- UCMP
- UCMP Paleobotany Collection: Catalogs and Information
- Universal Chalcidoidea Database (Natural History Museum, UK)
- University of Minnesota Insect Collection
- University of Washington Fish Collection
- VN Illustrated Database of Mexican Biodiversity
- Water and Climate Bibliography (Pacific Institute)
- Western Australian Museum's FaunaBase and FaunaList
- Wolves: A Bibliography and Guide to the Literature, 1968-1987
- World Biodiversity Database
- World Cave Database
- World Taxonomist Database
- World Turtle Database (EMY System)
- Worm Atlas
- WormBase
- Yale Peabody Museum Collections
- Zoonomen: Zoological Nomenclature Resource
Booksellers
- Bibliomania Herpetological Literature
-
Buteo Books
Books on birds
- Flora & Fauna Books
- Geoscience Books
- Global Books in Print
- Natural History Booksellers (UCMP Berkeley)
-
NHBS Mailorder Bookstore (UK)
International bookdealer covering all areas of natural history
- PaleoPublications
- Pemberley Natural History Books
- Polyglot Paleontologist: English Translations...
- Sea Challengers Natural History Books
- Vedams Books (India)
- Zoo Book Sales
Careers and Jobs
- American Fisheries Society Job Center Online
- American Society of Limnology and Oceanography Positions Offered
- Association for Women Geoscientists Job Web
- BioPlanet Bioinformatics Jobs
- Careers in Biology (Emporia State University)
- Careers in Biology (Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology Educational Council)
- Careers in Oceanography, Marine Science & Marine Biology (Scripps Institute of Oceanography Library)
- Careers in the Geosciences (Earthscience World)
- Center for International Earth Science Information Network Employment Opportunities
- Earth Science World Careers in the Geosciences
- EARTHWORKS-JOBS.COM
- ECO.ORG: The Environmental Careers Organization
- Ecological Society of America Career Opportunities
- Ecological Society of America Physiological Ecology Section Positions
- Entomological Society of America Employment
- Environmental Career Opportunities
- Environmental Career.Com
- General Information about Marine Careers (Virginia Institute of Marine Science)
- GeoCommunity Career Center
- Geological Society (UK) Careers Information
- Geological Society of America Professional Development
- GeoWeb Interactive
- GIS Jobs Clearinghouse
- GISjobs.com
- Job Board (International Association for Great Lakes Research)
- Job Seeker (Natural Resource and Environmental Vacancies)
- Jobs ... in Structural Geology & Tectonics
- Marine Conservation Biology Jobs and Internships
- Marine Mammal Science Careers
- MSA Job Board (Mineralogical Society of America)
- Naturejobs (Nature.com)
- NewScientist Jobs
- North American Benthological Society: What's New
- Oceanography/Marine-Related Careers (Office of Naval Research)
-
Science careers from Encyclopedia Smithsonian
Sources for Information on Careers in Biology, Conservation, and Oceanography
- SCIENCEJOBS.COM
- SCIJOBS.ORG: The Scientist's Employment Network
- Smithsonian Career Center
- Wetland-related Jobs (Society of Wetland Scientists)
Electronic Books
- AnimalBase: Early Zoological Literature Online
- Biodiversity Support Program (BSP) Publications Database
- Convention on Biological Diversity Publications
- Darwin Correspondence Project
- Familiar Birds: Life Histories of Familiar North American Birds
- Hive and the Honeybee: E.F. Phillips Beekeeping Collection at Cornell
- Making of America (MOA) Cornell Site
- Making of America (MOA) University of Michigan Site
- National Agriculture Library Preservation Program
- National Biodiversity Institute (Costa Rica) Electronic Publications
- National Science Digital Library
- National Wetlands Research Center (USGS) Digital Collection
- Northeast Fisheries Science Center (NOAA) Scientific Publications
- Online Books Page
- Pacific Southwest Research Station (USDA) Publications
- Rare Books from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library
- Smithsonian Institution Libraries Digital Library
- U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Publications Online
- U.S. Geological Survey Books and other Publications
- University of California Press Scholarship Editions
- World Resources Institute Publications and Multimedia
Guides to the Web and Web Portals
- Academic Info: Biology & Biological Sciences Gateway
- All About Birds (Cornell)
- American Southwest: A Guide to the National Parks and Natural Landscapes ...
- AmphibiaWeb
- Animal Diversity Web
- Animal Info - Animal Organizations, Links, and Publications
- Animal Info: Information on Endangered Mammals
- AntWeb (California Academy of Sciences)
- AQUILINE Wildlife Web
- Arachno Web
- Ask-An-Earth-Scientist
- ATHENA Mineralogy
- Australian Biodiversity
- Beetle Science (Cornell)
- Bio Links (BIOZONE)
- Biodiversity (NBII)
- Biodiversity Hotspots (Conservation International)
- Biogeoinformatics of Hexacorals
- Biological Control: A Guide to Natural Enemies in North America
- Biological Resources (USGS)
- Biology of Sharks and Rays
- BiologyBrowser (BIOSIS)
- BIOME Internet Resources
- BioTech: Life Science Resources and Reference Tools
- Bird Conservation (EPA)
- Bird Links to the World
- Birding on the Net
- Birdnet
- Birds, Birds, Birds (U.S. Fish and Wildlife)
- BirdSource
- Bug Bytes (USDA)
- BugBios
- Butterflies of North America
- Canada's Aquatic Environments
- CAS Echinoderm Page
- CBIF: Canadian Biodiversity Information Facility
- Cetacea
- Chemical Ecology of Insects
- CITES: Animals and Plants Identification Tools
- Coleoptera World Wide Web Site: USDA SEL
- CONABIO: Comision Nacional para el Conocimiento y Uso de la Biodiversidad (Mexico)
- Conchologist’s Information Network
- Conchology
- Copepod Web Portal
- Crocodilians : Natural History & Conservation
- CYBERSTACKS
- Digital Librarian
- Digital Library for Earth System Education
- Diptera Site (USDA SEL)
- Discover Life
- DMOZ Open Directory Project: Science
- Earth Science World
- EarthTrends: The Environmental Information Portal
- EcoBirds (EcoPort)
- Ecology WWW Page
- ElasmoWorld
- Electronic Resources on Lepidoptera
- Electronic Resources on Ornithology
- Electronic Volcano
- eNature.com (with Online Field Guides)
- Entomology Index of Internet Resources (Iowa State)
- Environment Directory
- EQNET: Earthquake Information Network
- ESA EdWeb Ecology Course Syllabus Exchange
- Fishlink
- GBIF: Global Biodiversity Information Facility
- GEO INDEX
- Geo-Guide
- GEOBIOLINK-Database
- Geological Time Machine (UCMP Berkeley)
- Geology (USGS)
- Geology of Virginia
- Geology Web Links
- Geoscience Australia
- Geoscience Departments WWW Directory
- GEOSOURCE
- Global Change Master Directory (NASA)
- Global Climate Change: Research Explorer
- Grasshoppers: Their Biology, Identification, and Management
- Guide to the Orders of Trilobites
- Hans' Paleobotany Pages
- Herpetological Contents
- HerpNET
- HerpSeeker.com
- How Volcanoes Work
- IABIN: Inter-American Biodiversity Information Network
- Ichthyology at the Florida Museum of Natural History
- INBIO: Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad (Costa Rica)
- INFOMINE (Scholarly Internet Resource Collections)
- InfoNatura: Birds, Mammals and Amphibians of Latin America
- Insect and Spider Collections of the World
- INSECT Answers (Texas A & M)
- Invasivespecies.gov (NBII)
- Journey into Phylogenetic Systematics
- Kuban’s Paleo Place
- Links for Mineralogists
- Links for Palaeobotanists
- Live from the Rainforest
- Marine Biology Web
- Marine Conservation Biology Resources
- Marine Flatworms of the World
- Marine Mammal Net
- MarLIN: Marine Life Information Network
- Meteorite Central
- Microscopy & Imaging Resources on the WWW
- Mineral Resources Program (USGS)
- Minerals on the Internet
- Morphometrics at SUNY Stonybrook
- Moths of North America
- Museum of Entomology: Florida State Collection of Arthropods
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Taxonomy Homepage
- Natural History Reference Sources
- Natural Selection (BIOME)
- Natureevents
- NBII: National Biological Information Infrastructure
- Nearctica: The Natural World of North America
- Netherlands Biodiversity Information (NLBIF)
- NOAA Fisheries Shark Website
- NOAA Paleoclimatology
- Northern Prairie Biological Resources
- OceanPortal (UNESCO)
- Ornithology: the Science of Birds
- Palaeos: The Trace of Life on Earth
- Paleontology Resources (UCMP Berkeley)
- Palynology (University of Arizona)
- Phylogenetics Resources (UCMP Berkeley)
- Plant & Insect Parasitic Nematodes Home Page
- PSIgate: Physical Sciences Information Gateway
- Radiocarbon Web Information
- Reptiles and Amphibians of the World
- Resources in Protistology
- SciCentral: Gateway to the Best Scientific Research News Sources
- SCIENCE.GOV
- Scorpion Files
- Seaslug.com
- Smithsonian: Encyclopedia Smithsonian: Natural History
- Smithsonian: NMNH: Invertebrate Zoology: World of Copepods
- Species at Risk (Canada)
- Squid Links
- Talk.Origins Archive
- Teacher Resources (NBII)
- UCMP Evolution Wing
- UCMP Paleontology Portal
- UCMP Phylogeny Wing: Phylogeny of Life
- Virtual Library of Ecology & Biodiversity
- VN Illustrated Database of Mexican Biodiversity
- Volcano Live
- Whale-Watching Web
- WhaleNet
- Wikispecies: Free Species Directory
- WINDandSea: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide (NOAA)
- World of Science (CIRS, France)
- WWW Virtual Library: Natural Sciences and Mathematics
- www.coleoptera.org
- WWW.PALAEO.DE
- Yahoo Science
Images and Photographs
- 3-D Insects
- Agricultural Images from the National Agriculture Library (U.S.D.A)
- ARKive: Images of Life on Earth
- Australia Environment and Heritage's Online Image Database
- BIODIC Ultrastructure Website
- CalPhotos
- Cirrus Digital Imaging - Common North American Arthropods
- Complete Morris's British Birds (Birdcheck)
- Crustacean Gallery (Museum Victoria, Australia)
- Digital Morphology (National Science Foundation)
- E Skeletons Project
- Earth Science World ImageBank
- FishScope
- Forestry Images
- Freshwater and Marine Image Bank (University of Washington Libraries)
- Geological Society (UK) Picture Library
- Geoscapes Photography
- Images Canada
- Internet Bird Collection
- Iowa State University Entomology Image Gallery
- MicroAngela: Electron Microscope Image Gallery
- Micropolitan Museum of Microscopic Art Forms
- MorphBank
- National Archive of Geologic Photographs (British Geological Survey)
- National Science Foundation Multimedia Gallery
- Natural History Museum (UK) Picture Library
- NATUREPL: Nature Picture Library
- New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
- NOAA Photo Library
- PhotographicLibraries.com
- Picture Australia
- Smithsonian Archives Image Gallery
- Smithsonian Images
- Smithsonian: NMNH: Entomology Illustration Archive
- Smithsonian: NMNH: Paleobiology: Paleo Art
- Smithsonian: NZP: Animal Photo Galleries
- U.S.D.A. ARS Image Gallery
- U.S.F.W. National Image Library
- Volcano Watch
Journals and Online Journals
- African Journals Online (INASP)
- All Full-Text Journals
- All that JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
- Annual Reviews
- Australian Journals Online
- BBS E-Prints Online
- Bioline International
- BioMed Central
- BioOne List of Journals
- Blackwell Science/Munksgaard SYNERGY List of Journals
- Cambridge University Press Journals Online
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
- Elsevier Journals
- HighWire Press (Stanford University) Journals
- How to Cite Electronic Sources (Library of Congress)
- IAMSLIC Union Lists of Serials
- Ingenta Connect
- Internet Library of Early Journals
- J-STAGE (Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator)
- JSTOR Journal Storage
- Malacological Journals and Newsletters Online Database
- Natural History Electronic Journals and Newsletters
- Natural History Full-Text Journals
- SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
- SpringerLink
- Taylor & Francis Online Journals
- University of Chicago Press Journals
- Wiley InterScience
Libraries
- Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia. Ewell Sale Stewart Library
- ALADIN System (Washington Research Library Consortium)
- American Museum of Natural History Research Library
- Bernice Bishop Museum, Hawaii, Library
- British Library, UK
- California Academy of Sciences Library
- California Digital Library
- CISTI's Catalogue (NRC' s Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information)
- Denver Museum of Nature & Science Library
- DLESE: Digital Library for Earth System Education
- Earth Sciences & Map Library (UC Berkeley)
- FAO Library
- Geological Society (UK) Library
- Harvard University. Museum of Comparative Zoology. Ernst Mayr Library
- Kew Library (Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew)
- LIBDEX: The Library Index
- Library and Archive Catalogs (UCMP Berkeley)
- Marine Biological Laboratory/Wood’s Hole Oceanographic Institution Library
- Missouri Botanical Garden Library
- Museum National d'Histoire Naturelle (Paris) Library
- National Agricultural Library
- National Library of Medicine
- National Library of Medicine LOCATORplus Catalog
- National Marine Mammal Laboratory Library
- Natural History Museum, London, Libraries
- New York Botanical Garden Library
- Smithsonian: Science Libraries
- U.S. Department of the Interior. Library
- U.S. Geological Survey Library
- U.S. National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration Library
- University of Maryland Libraries
- Virginia Institute of Marine Science Library
Museums
- Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia
- Alaska. University. Museum
- American Museum of Natural History
- Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum
- Australian Museum
- Bernice Bishop Museum, Hawaii
- Bohart Museum of Entomology
- British Museum
- Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture
- California. University. Museum of Paleontology
- Canadian Museum of Nature
- Cincinnati Museum Center
- Cleveland Museum of Natural History
- Colorado. University. Museum of Natural History
- Copenhagen, Denmark. University. Zoological Museum
- Denver Museum of Nature & Science
- Electronic Natural History Museum Project (ENHM)
- Fersman Mineralogical Museum (Russian Academy of Sciences)
- Field Museum of Natural History
- Florida Museum of Natural History
- Harvard University. Museum of Comparative Zoology
- Harvard University. Museum of Natural History
- Illinois State Museum
- Kuban’s Guide to Natural History Museums on the Web
- Michigan. University. Museum of Paleontology
- Michigan. University. Museum of Zoology
- Milwaukee Public Museum
- Missouri Botanical Garden
- Musee de Mineralogie--Ecole des Mines, Paris
- Museo de la Plata, Argentina
- Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales, Madrid
- Museo Nacional de Historia Natural, Chile
- Museum National d’Histoire Naturelle, Paris
- Museum Victoria, Australia
- Museums Online
- National Museums of Kenya
- Natural History Museum (UK)
- Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
- Natural History Museums (UCMP Berkeley)
- Natural History Museums and Collections
- Nebraska. University. State Museum
- New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science
- New York Botanical Garden
- New York State Museum
- Oxford University Museum of Natural History, UK
- Paleontological Institute of the Russian Academy of Science
- Paleontological Research Institution, Ithaca, NY
- Provincial Museum of Alberta
- Raffles Museum of Biodiversity Research
- Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences and Museum
- Royal British Columbia Museum, Canada
- Royal Ontario Museum, Canada
- San Diego Natural History Museum
- Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History
- Slater Museum of Natural History
- Smithsonian Museums Page
- Smithsonian: National Museum of Natural History
- Texas Memorial Museum
- Tulane University Museum of Natural History
- Virginia Marine Science Museum
- Virginia Museum of Natural History
- Virtual Museum (Canada)
- Worldwide Museum of Natural History
- Yale University. Peabody Museum of Natural History
- Zoological Institute and Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
Organizations (Associations and Societies)
- American Association for the Advancement of Science
- American Association of Petroleum Geologists
- American Association of Stratigraphic Palynologists
- American Birding Association
- American Cetacean Society
- American Fisheries Society
- American Gem Society
- American Geological Institute
- American Geophysical Union
- American Institute of Biological Sciences
- American Meteor Society
- American Microscopical Society
- American Ornithologists’ Union
- American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
- American Society of Limnology and Oceanography
- American Society of Mammalogists
- Animal Behavior Society
- Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation
- Association of American State Geologists
- Association of Field Ornithologists
- Birds Australia (Royal Australasian Ornithologists’ Union)
- British Ecological Society
- British Ornithologists’ Union
- Center for North American Herpetology (CNAH)
- Cetacean Society International
- Coleopterists’ Society
- Dinosaur Society (UK)
- Ecological Society of America
- Entomological Society of America
- European Mineralogical Union
- Geological Society (UK)
- Geological Society of America
- International Association for Mathematical Geology
- International Association of Sedimentologists
- International Marine Mammal Association
- International Society of Arachnology
- International Whaling Commission
- Linnean Society of London
- Malacological Society of Australasia
- Marine Biological Association (UK)
- Meteoritical Society
- Micropalaeontological Society (UK)
- Mineralogical Society (UK)
- Mineralogical Society of America
- NATHIST: International Committee for Museums and Collections of Natural History
- National Academy of Sciences
- National Association of Marine Laboratories
- National Audubon Society
- National Geographic Society
- Natural History Caucus of the Special Libraries Association
- Natural Science Collections Alliance (ASC)
- New York Academy of Sciences
- North American Benthological Society
- North American Butterfly Association
- Ornithological Societies of North America
- Orthopterists' Society
- Palaeontological Association
- Paleontological Society
- Phylogenetics Societies and Organizations (UCMP Berkeley)
- Planetary Society
- Quaternary Research Association
- Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists
- Royal Society (London)
- Societies & Organizations (UCMP Berkeley)
- Society for Conservation Biology
- Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology
- Society for Marine Mammalogy
- Society for Sedimentary Geology
- Society for the History of Natural History
- Society for the Preservation of Natural History Collections
- Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
- Society of Vertebrate Paleontology
- Systematics Association (UK)
- Wilderness Society
- Wildlife Conservation Society
- Wildlife Society
- Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation
- Zoological Society of London
Organizations (Other)
- All Species Foundation
- American Bird Conservancy
- BIODIDAC
- Biodiversity Support Program (BSP)
- Bioinformatics.org
- BioNET-INTERNATIONAL: The Global Network for Taxonomy
- BIOSIS
- British Antarctic Survey
- British Geological Survey
- Center for Biodiversity and Conservation
- Center for Biological Diversity
- Center for Climatic Research
- Center for Environmental Research and Conservation (CERC)
- Center for International Earth Science Information Center (CIESIN)
- Chesapeake Bay Program
- Conservation International
- Convention on Biological Diversity
- Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology
- DIVERSITAS: An International Programme of Biodiversity Science
- European Centre for Nature Conservation
- Expert Center for Taxonomic Identification
- FAO Fisheries
- Geological Survey of Canada
- Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and Planetology
- Illinois Natural History Survey
- Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)
- Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (France)
- Institute for Scientific Information (ISI)
- Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR)
- International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature
- International Meteor Organization
- International Species Information System (ISIS)
- International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
- International Wolf Center
- Man and the Biosphere Program
- Marine Mammal Center
- MarLIN: The Marine Life Information Network for Britain & Ireland
- Maryland Geological Survey
- Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI)
- Mote Marine Laboratory
- National Biodiversity Network
- National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS)
- National Institute of Polar Research (NIPR)
- National Wildlife Federation
- Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory
- Nature Conservancy
- NatureServe
- New Zealand Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences
- Ocean Drilling Program
- Organization of Biological Field Stations
- Palaeobotanical Research Group (Munster, Germany)
- Paleobiological Fund
- Peregrine Fund
- Reef Education Network (REN)
- Reef Environmental Education Foundation (REEF)
- Scripps Institution of Oceanography
- Sierra Club
- Southern California Earthquake Center
- Threatened Species Network (Australia)
- TRAFFIC Network
- U.S. Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network
- United Nations Environment Programme
- West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey
- Woods Hole Marine Biological Laboratory
- Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
- World Chelonian Trust
- World Conservation Monitoring Centre
- World Wildlife Fund
- World Wildlife Fund Global Network
Organizations (U.S. Government)
- Cascades Volcano Observatory (USGS)
- Endangered Species Program (FWS)
- Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center (USGS)
- Hawaiian Volcano Observatory (USGS)
- National Center for Biotechnology Information
- National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA)
- National Marine Mammal Laboratory (NOAA)
- National Marine Sanctuaries System (NOAA)
- National Park Service
- National Science Foundation (NSF)
- National Wildlife Refuge System (FWS)
- National Wildlife Research Center (USDA)
- Northeast Fisheries Science Center (NOAA)
- Northern California Earthquake Data Center (USGS)
- Patuxent Wildlife Research Center (USGS)
- Systematic Entomology Laboratory (USDA)
- U.S. D.A. Forest Service
- U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
- U.S. Department of the Interior
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
- U.S. Global Change Research Program
- U.S. National Geophysical Data Center (NOAA)
- U.S. National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
- Yellowstone Volcano Observatory (USGS)
Other Smithsonian Resources
- Biodiversity Programs
- Center for Earth and Planetary Studies
- Dynamic Earth Exhibit
- Earth Today: A Digital View of our Dynamic Planet
- Evolution of Terrestrial Ecosystems (ETE) Consortium
- Expeditions: 150 Years of Smithsonian Research in Latin America
- Global Volcanism Program
- Interdisciplinary Research Projects
- Lewis & Clark as Naturalists
- Living Fossils of the Deep: An Expedition to the Bahamian Seafloor
- Marine Ecosystems Exhibit
- Marine Science
- Museum at 50: 1886 Visitor's Guide Online
- Museum Studies
- National Museum of Natural History
- National Museum of Natural History Exhibits
- National Museum of Natural History Online Exhibits
- National Science Resources Center
- Natural Partners Program
- Ocean Planet: A Traveling Exhibition
- Panda's Thumb
- Research Training Program
- Smithsonian Education
- Smithsonian Institution Affiliations
- Smithsonian Magazine
- Spencer Baird and Ichthyology at the Smithsonian, 1850-1900
- Web Search (NMNH)
