Neville-Pribram Mid-Career Educators Awards

The  Neville-Pribram Mid-Career Educators Awards allow mid-career educators to be in residence and utilize the Smithsonian Libraries distinctive collections, focusing on science, history, culture and arts.  The awards are open to middle & high school teachers, college teachers, and museum educators working on curriculum development or publications in print or electronic form. 

In 2015, recipients will be awarded a short-term residency at the Warren M. Robbins Library at the National Museum of African Art.   They will be offered an opportunity to conduct research in the arts of Africa and related fields of African culture and history.  The Library offers excellent resources for developing curricula relating to Common Core, Core Arts Standards, and Advance Placement curricula.

Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art

Mandela posterThe Warren M. Robbins Library at the National Museum of African Art is the leading library in the world for the research and study of African visual arts.  It houses more than 45,000 volumes on African art, history and culture.  The Library embraces classical and modern African visual arts with strong supporting collections of African history, archaeology, architecture, religion, ethnography, oral tradition, musicology, photography, and cinema.  Additional holdings cover African literatures, popular culture, African museums, curriculum materials, and children’s books.


Applicants must be current middle school, high school, or college teachers or museum educators working on curriculum development or publications.  They may not reside within commuting distance of the National Museum of African Art.  This award is not intended to further the research of doctoral candidates or post-doctoral scholars.  Only one award can be offered to a visitor within a twelve-month period.  Awards may not be used to extend other Smithsonian appointments.  Awardees will be notified early 2015.

Stipend and duration of the residency

Recipients of the Neville-Pribram Mid-Career Educators Awards will receive a stipend of $2,500 per month for three months in the summer of 2015.   Residencies of shorter duration will be prorated.

How to apply

Selection is based on a brief proposal and current resumé.   The proposal should include:

  • description of the project and its intended outcome
  • the relationship of the Smithsonian’s African collections to the project
  • a current resumé
  • one letter of recommendation
  • the length and preferred dates of the residency

Applicants are advised to consult with librarian Janet Stanley prior to submitting a proposal.  More information about the Warren M. Robbins Library

Applications should be submitted through the Smithsonian Online Academic Appointment system (SOLAA) by October 31, 2014.  You will be required to create an account.  You may review the SOLAA User’s Guide on their website to familiarize yourself with application procedures. 

Following the residency at the Smithsonian Libraries, recipients are requested to submit a short report on their research at the Warren M. Robbins Library.  Recipients are also asked to provide the Library a copy of any publication resulting from research conducted as a result of the award.

Contact:  Janet Stanley, Librarian, Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art.   (202) 633-4681.   Postal: Warren M. Robbins Library, Smithsonian Institution—MRC 708, P. O. Box 37012, Washington, DC 20013-7012.

The Katherine Neville-Karl Pribram Mid-Career Educators Awards were established in 2013 through the generosity of best-selling novelist Katherine Neville and neuroscientist Karl H. Pribram.