All Locations American Art and Portrait Gallery Library The AA/PG Library is the leading destination for study in American art and portraiture, and includes strong holdings in American and European art, American history and biography, and American crafts. Anacostia Community Museum Library The Library supports the Anacostia Community Museum's mission, which is to explore social issues impacting diverse populations of the DC metropolitan area to promote mutual understanding and strengthen community bonds. Botany and Horticulture Library The Botany Library and Horticulture Branch Library provide research support for the departments and the large number of botanists world-wide who use the collections and resources. Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Library The major resource in the United States for books, trade catalogs, serials, pictures, and archival material covering design and decorative art from the Renaissance to the present. Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology The Dibner Library is the Smithsonian’s collection of rare books and manuscripts relating to the history of science and technology. Located in the American History Museum in Washington, DC. Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Library With more than eighty-six thousand volumes, the Library now is considered one of the finest repositories of Asian art resources in the United States. Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Library A research collection devoted to modern and contemporary painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, photography, video, film and emerging art forms. John Wesley Powell Library of Anthropology The Library collection reflects the important role that the Smithsonian Institution played in the development of anthropology as a formal discipline in the United States Joseph F. Cullman 3rd Library of Natural History Museum Support Center Library Serving the research needs of staff at the Smithsonian's Museum Support Center for the purposes of collections storage, research, and conservation. National Air and Space Museum Library A premier aviation and aerospace history collection, the library supports research by the Museum’s curatorial staff and aviation researchers around the world National Museum of African American History & Culture Library and Archives The Library, slated to open to the public by appointment in 2018, will support the mission of the museum, and the research and documentation of all aspects of the African American experience. National Museum of American History Library A premier American history collection covering all areas of American history and culture, including social, economic, technological and scientific developments. National Museum of Natural History Library The National Museum of Natural History (NMNH) Library consists of the main location (in NMNH's East Court) and 11 specialized collections throughout the NMNH building. National Postal Museum Library Contains more than 40,000 books, journals, catalogs, and documents, and is among the world's largest postal history and philatelic research facilities. National Zoological Park Library Opened in 1898, the National Zoological Park library is one of the oldest in continuing existence at the Smithsonian. Smithsonian Environmental Research Center Library Provides support for the Smithsonian scientists studying ecological systems and processes and SERC's education staff and programs. Smithsonian Libraries Research Annex The Smithsonian Libraries Research Annex (SLRA) holds over 35,000 monographs, over 250,000 periodical holdings, and is the most subject-diverse branch within the Smithsonian Libraries' system. Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute Library The Library supports research, publications, exhibits and public programming of the Institution, as well as those of other museums and research institutions in Central America and Panama. Vine Deloria, Jr. Library, National Museum of the American Indian The Deloria Library supports the National Museum of the American Indian Museum, the Cultural Resources Center, and the George G. Heye Center in New York City. Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art The major resource center in the United States for the research and study of the visual arts of Africa with more than 50,000 volumes.