Research Guide - National Museum of American History Library
- American History: Smithsonian Institution Resources
- American Immigration History
- American Industrial History
- American Music History
- American Presidency and Political History
- American Religious History
- American Studies and History
- American Women's History
- American Automobile and Transportation History
- Basic History Research Tools
- Design and Decorative Arts
- Environmental History
- Food and Beverage History
- Graphic Arts
- History of American Education
- History of Technology: Invention and Inventors
- History of the Computer and the Internet
- Lewis and Clark Expedition
- Medical History
- Military History
- Naval History
- Numismatic Resources
- Photography History
- Railroad History
- The West
- Trade Literature
- United States Cartography and Maps
- World's Fairs and Expositions Resources
American History: Smithsonian Institution Resources
- Anacostia Community Museum
- Center for Folklife & Cultural Heritage
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian: A to Z
- From Smithson to Smithsonian: The Birth of an Institution
Bibliography on the History of the Smithsonian Institution
- National Air & Space Museum
- National Museum of African American History & Culture
- National Museum of American History
- National Museum of the American Indian
- National Portrait Gallery
- National Postal Museum
American Immigration History
- Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies
The Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies which documents and interprets the ethnic and immigrant experience in the United States. Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies has recently merged into the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
- Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
- Ellis Island
The Ellis Island Immigration Museum and their online American Family Immigration History Center (AFIHC) allows visitors to explore the collection of immigrant arrival records stored in the Ellis Island Archives.
- Immigrant Arrivals: A Guide To Published Sources
Library of Congress bibliography of print and web based resources.
- Immigration History Research Center
The IHRC develops and maintains a library and archival collection, provides research assistance, produces publications, and sponsors academic and public programs. Its work supports the parent institution, the University of Minnesota.
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
- Immigration: The Changing Face of America
A Library of Congress site for teachers and students.
- National Archives & Records Administration Immigration Records: Immigration Records
NARA has immigration records for arrivals to the United States from foreign ports between approximately 1800 and 1959. The records are arranged by Port of Arrival.
American Industrial History
- Beyond Steel: An Archive of Lehigh Valley Industry and Culture
This Lehigh University Digital Library site highlights the Lehigh Valley's mid nineteenth-century boom, late twentieth-century decline and continuing community readjustment. Through the digitization and presentation of letters, books, photographs, maps, essays, and oral histories the site will aid researchers in understanding not only the lives of railroad barons and steel titans, but also the experiences of average folks who worked and lived in the community.
- Inside an American Factory: Westinghouse Works Collection :
A part of the Library of Congress American Memory Project, this collection of films, images and text. The collection contains 21 films showing various views of Westinghouse companies. Most prominently featured are the Westinghouse Air Brake Company, the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, and the Westinghouse Machine Company.
- U.S. Steel Gary Works Photograph Collection
The Indiana University Digital Library Program is produced this series of more than 2,200 photographs of the Gary Works steel mill and the corporate town of Gary, Indiana held by the Calumet Regional Archives at Indiana University Northwest.
American Music History Resources
- African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920
The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States.
- Archive of Popular American Music - UCLA
The Archive of Popular American Music is a non-circulating research collection covering the history of popular music in America from 1790 to the present. The collection is one of the largest in the country, numbering almost 450,000 pieces of sheet music, anthologies, and arrangements for band and orchestra, and 62,500 recordings on disc, tape, and cylinder. Subject strengths within twentieth-century holdings include music for theater, motion picture, radio and television, as well as general popular, country, rhythm and blues, and rocksongs.
- Azúcar! The Life and Music of Celia Cruz
A bibliography of monographs and lesson plans for teachers from K to 12.
- Edinburgh University Collection of Historic Musical Instruments
Features descriptions and images of many items in the collection and publication lists.
- Historic American Sheet Music
The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3,042 pieces from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, published in America between 1850 and 1920.
- Historic Sheet Music, 1800-1922
This sheet music collection from the Library of Congress consists of approximately 9,000 items published from 1800 to 1922, although the majority is from 1850 to 1920. The bulk was published in many different cities in the United States, but some of the items bear European imprints. Most of the music is written for voice and piano; a significant minority is instrumental. Notable in this collection are early pieces by Irving Berlin and Jerome Kern, as well as music by other popular composers such as Victor Herbert, Jean Schwartz, Paul Dresser, Ernest R. Ball, Gussie L. Davis, Charles K. Harris, and George M. Cohan. Numerous arrangements of classical tunes by Bach, Beethoven, Schubert and other famous classical composers are also well-represented.
- Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
This collection, at the Milton S. Eisenhower Library of The Johns Hopkins University, contains over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960. All pieces of the collection are indexed on this site and a search will retrieve a catalog description of the pieces and an image of the cover and each page of music.
- Red Hot Jazz Archive
The Archive is primarily concerned with documenting the world of early jazzmen, so visitors will find ample information on Louis Armstrong, King Oliver, Kid Ory, Bunk Johnson, and many others. Visitors can start their journey through the site by clicking on the "Bands" area. Here they will find an extensive list of the bands from the "hot" era organized alphabetically.
- RoJaRo Index
An index to more than 300,000 entries, covering 250 music magazines from 20 countries, covering all types of contemporary popular music: rock, jazz, roots, blues, rap, soul, gospel, country, reggae, etc.
American Presidency and Political History
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation consists of a linked set of published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875. It includes the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-89); the Letters of Delegates to Congress (1774-89); the Records of the Federal Convention of 1787, or Farrand's Records, and the Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution (1787-88), or Elliot's Debates; the Journals of the House of Representatives (1789-1875) and the Senate (1789-1875), including the Senate Executive Journal (1789-1875); the Journal of William Maclay (1789-91), senator from Pennsylvania in the 1st Congress; the debates of Congress as published in the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-37), Congressional Globe (1833-73), and Congressional Record (1873-75); the Statutes at Large (1789-1875); the American State Papers (1789-1838); and congressional bills and resolutions for selected sessions beginning with the 6th Congress (1799) in the House of Representatives and the 16th Congress (1819) in the Senate. A select number of documents and reports from the monumental U.S. Congressional Serial Set are available as well.
- American Presidency: Bibliographies of Recently Published Books
This bibliography was written in conjunction with the American Presidency exhibition and is age and grade specific.
- American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The archives contain 75,117 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
- American President
This resource is sponsored by the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia. Launched originally in 2000 as the online companion to "The American President" -- the six-part PBS television series -- American President is a resource on the history of the presidency and the nature of contemporary policy making.
- Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress
Online publication of the Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress, published by the Senate Historical Office and the Legislative Resource Center of the House of Representatives. Includes images from the Senate Historical Office. Database is searchable by name, position, and state.
- Center for the Study of the Presidency
The Center is a non-profit educational institution devoted to the study of the presidency, government, and politics.
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog and the geodata catalog.
- Encyclopædia Britannica's profile of the American Presidency
Read about the presidents and explore the electoral process, election results, images, video, and important documents related to the evolution of the nation's highest office.
- I Do Solemnly Swear... Presidential Inaugurations
This Library of Congress collection offers approximately 400 items or 2,000 digital files from each of the 54 inaugurations from George Washington's in 1789 to George W. Bush's inauguration of 2001. This includes diaries and letters of presidents and of those who witnessed inaugurations, handwritten drafts of inaugural addresses, broadsides, inaugural tickets and programs, prints, photographs, and sheet music.
- JFK Assassination Records Collection Reference System
Over 170,000 assassination-related documents. Contributing agencies include: the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA); the Department of Justice; and the Department of State.
- Miller Center of Public Affairs
The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive serves as a research facility for scholars of U. S. public policy. The Library’s collection is a specialized one focused on American politics and history with special attention paid to the American Presidency.
- Photographing History: Fred J. Maroon and the Nixon Years, 1970-1974
A short list of readings on the Nixon presidency.
- POTUS: Presidents of the United States
This resource you will find background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included.
- Presidency Research Group (PRG)
The Presidency Research Group represents the scholarly community whose professional interests focus on the American Presidency.
- Presidential Libraries of the National Archives & Records Administration
The Presidential Library system is made up of ten Presidential Libraries. This nationwide network of libraries is administered by the Office of Presidential Libraries, which is part of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), located in College Park, MD. These are not traditional libraries, but rather repositories for preserving and making available the papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents since Herbert Hoover.
- The Role of the Vice President
A brief history of the role of the Vice President as President of the U.S. Senate.
- THOMAS - The Library of Congress
THOMAS has the Congressional Record and full text of legislation available from 1989 (101st Congress) to the present. In addition, THOMAS has summaries (not full text) of legislation from 1973 (93rd Congress). From the Library of Congress.
- Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008
This University of Richmond project examines the evolution of presidential politics in the United States across the span of American history. It offers a wide spectrum of cinematic and interactive visualizations of how Americans voted in presidential elections at the county level over the past 164 years. There are expert analysis and commentary videos that discuss some of the most interesting and significant trends in American political history.
- Voting and Registration (U.S. Census Bureau Data)
Contains information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics for the United States.
- White House Historical Association
The White House Historical Association is a charitable nonprofit institution whose purpose is to enhance the understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the White House.
- The White House Building
Information on the White House, including historical details.
- Women in Congress
This web site, based on the book Women in Congress, 1917–2006, contains biographical profiles of former women Members of Congress, links to information about current women Members, essays on the institutional and national events that shaped successive generations of Congresswomen, and images of each woman Member, including rare photos.
American Religious History
- American Jewish Historical Society
The American Jewish Historical Society is the oldest national ethnic historical organization in the United States. The Society’s library, archives, photograph, and art and artifacts collections document the American Jewish experience.
- American Religion Data Archive
The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
- Divining America: Religion and the National Culture
Divining America: Religion and the National Culture is designed to help teachers of American history bring their students to a greater understanding of the role religion has played in the development of the United States.
- History of American Religion
H-AmRel is a non-sectarian, non-partisan electronic forum for the discussion of all aspects of American Religious History. H-AmRel is part of the H-Net family of electronic discussion groups. Subscribing is free.
- Journal of Southern Religion
JSR is an online journal targeted toward scholars, students, and others who are engaged in or interested in the study of Southern religion and culture.
- Material History of American Religion Project
The Material History of American Religion Project studied (1995-2001) the history of American religion in all its complexity by focusing on material objects and economic themes.
- North Star: A Journal of African-American Religious History
An online journal sponsored by Princeton University.
- Religion and the Founding of the American Republic (Library of Congress)
Encompassing over 200 objects including early American books, manuscripts, letters, prints, paintings, artifacts, and music from the Library’s collections and complemented by loans from other institutions, Religion and the Founding of the American Republic explores the role religion played in the founding of the American colonies, in the shaping of early American life and politics, and in forming the American Republic.
- Religious Movements Homepage Project at the University of Virginia
This Web site presents detailed profiles of more than two hundred different religious groups and movements in the United States.
- Santos: Substance and Soul
There are nine separate reading lists on topics related to the history, culture, preservation, and identification of Santos objects.
American Studies and History
- American Studies at the University of Virginia
An ongoing Web access program from the University of Virginia that provides links to student designed projects on American History and Studies.
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online (1841-1902)
The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from October 26, 1841 to 1955 and was revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. Currently, the digitized newspaper collection includes the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This Library of Congress site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Common-Place: The Interactive Journal of Early American Life
Common-Place is an electronic quarterly journal about early American history and culture before 1900.
- Documenting the American South - University of North Carolina
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The Gilder Lehrman Collection is the largest private collection of American history documents in the world. It preserves, exhibits, and disseminates archival resources chronicling the history of the United States from the beginning of European colonization, with emphasis on the period from 1760 through 1876. The collection contains resources on the history of colonial settlement, Indian relations, the American Revolution and its origins, the Constitution, the struggle over slavery, and the Civil War.
- H-Net Web Site
H-Net Web Site includes archived copies of all history related listserv discussion lists and vacancy announcements for various fields in the humanities.
- July 1942: United We Stand
Suggested readings on World War II American home front life, magazine history, and the United We Stand campaign.
- Library of Congress: American Memory Project
The American Memory Project are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.
- Making of America - Cornell University
Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- Making of America - University of Michigan
The Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- The G.I. Roundtable Series
The American Historical Association produced the G.I. Roundtable Series to help win World War II. The site is comprised of three main sections. Section I: The pamphlets, reproduced here as primary documents, provide a unique insight into what Americans were thinking about at the end of the war, and how the recent past was seen as a prelude to the future. Section II: A still-evolving selection of Background documents and related readings to provide context on the origins and production of the series and the historiography of the period. Section III: The site provides an extensive analysis of the origins of the series, and how it fit into both the Army's larger program of preparation for postwar changes as well as the larger culture in which they were produced.
- Within These Walls
An annotated reading list for elementary and middle school students and an extensive bibliography for older students interested in the themes related to the Ipswich House exhibition.
American Women's History
- American Women through Time
This site from the Middle Tennessee State University Library offers two approaches for the study of specific time periods in American women's history. A timeline and a guide to the selected resources for those time periods.
- American Women's History: A Research Guide
American Women's History provides citations to print and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections. The guide also provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles, dissertations, and primary sources from Middle Tennessee State University Library.
- Civil War Women: Primary Sources on the Internet and Bibliography
A product of Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
- Cookery and Foodways Collection
The University of Denver Cookery and Foodways Collection is particularly strong in American regional cookery, and contains a large number of privately published fund-raising cookbooks from churches, service organizations, and other community groups.
- Heaven Will Protect the Working Girl: Immigrant Women in the Turn-of-the-Century City
This web site is based upon curriculum materials produced by American Social History Project as part of the Who Built America? series.
- National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection
The complete National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection is a library of 700-800 titles collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress on November 1, 1938. The bulk of the collection is derived from the library of Carrie Chapman Catt, president of NAWSA from 1900-1904, and again from 1915-1920. Additional materials were donated from the libraries of other members and officers, including Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Alice Stone Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, Elizabeth Smith Miller, and Mary A. Livermore.
- National Women's History Project
The National Women's History Project is an educational nonprofit organization. The project provides information, educational materials, and programs on the diverse and historic accomplishments of women.
- Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College
The Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College is an internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, photographs, periodicals and other primary sources in women's history.
- Women & Social Movements in the United States, 1775-2000
The Women and Social Movements website is a project of the Center for the Historical Study of Women and Gender at the State University of New York at Binghamton and includes roughly 900 documents, 400 images, and 350 links to other websites.
- Women in America: 1820-1842
During the first half of the nineteenth century, Tocqueville and Beaumont were joined by scores of other European travelers curious about the new republic, and anxious to fill the European demand for accounts of American life. One of the most striking was the status of women--their domestic roles, their freedom in youth, their responsibilities in marriage, and their importance to the moral and religious life of the republic. Tocqueville and Beaumont observed all manner of social gatherings and recorded the conversations with prominent American citizens on a number of matters, including morality and the status of women.
- Women Working, 1800 - 1930
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images.
Automobile and Transportation History
- America on the Move
Teachers and parents can use the resource guides, lessons, and activity plans to teach children (K- Middle School) about transportation in American history.
- Antique Automobile Club of America
The Antique Automobile Club of America, founded in 1935, is dedicated to perpetuating the memories of early automobiles by encouraging their history, collection and use.
- Automobile in American Life and Society
This site was created and developed by the University of Michigan-Dearborn and the Henry Ford Museum. Each of the site’s five sections (design, environment, gender, labor, race) contains two essays—an overview of the topic and a more focused case study—plus a select annotated bibliography or bibliographic essay to guide further reading.
- Carriage Association of America
The Carriage Association of America is an organization devoted to the preservation and restoration of horse drawn carriages and sleighs. The site features information about the organization and links to related sites.
- Hemmings Motor News
This is the online resource of the advertising monthly that is devoted to antique, classic, vintage, muscle, street rod, and special interest automobiles, catering to car collectors and restorers. HMN also features the hobby's most complete calendar of upcoming events, hobbyists' legislative alerts, and a monthly listing of stolen collector cars.
- Henry Ford Museum
The Henry Ford Museum began as Henry Ford's personal collection of historic objects. Today, the 12 acre site is primarily a collection of antique machinery, pop culture items, automobiles, locomotives, aircraft, and other items.
- Rural Heritage
The online version of the print journal in support of small farmers and loggers who use draft horse, mule and ox power. It features articles and dialogues on animals, equipment, health information, and other resources.
- Society for Commercial Archeology
Established in 1977, the SCA is the oldest national organization devoted to the buildings, artifacts, structures, signs, and symbols of the 20th-century commercial landscape.
Basic History Research Tools
- Best of History Web Sites
- Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
- ECHO: Exploring & Collecting History Online
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
- History Matters: The U. S. Survey Course on the Web
- Library of Congress: American Memory
- National Archives Research Room
- National History Day
- Smithsonian History Explorer
- Using Primary Sources on the Web
Design and Decorative Arts
- Architecture and Urbanism of the Southwest
Architecture and Urbanism of the Southwest, is an illustrated essay by John Messina (AIA, Research Architect) and the University of Arizona Southwest Studies Center and the School of Architecture. The site also provides a recommended readings list of books and articles.
- Arts and Crafts Society
An interactive, electronic community, designed to enhance discussion and research in the Arts and Crafts movement. This site features: an archive of Arts and Crafts related sources; a listing of Arts and Crafts related events; a Forum for discussion of issues in the Arts and Crafts community; and a Marketplace.
- Bata Shoe Museum
Located in Toronto, the Bata Shoe Museum holds over 10,000 shoes in the collection.
- Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) 1933 to present
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, data pages including written histories, and supplemental materials.
- City Beautiful: The 1901 Plan for Washington, DC
A University of Virginia American Studies project, this site documents the first explicit attempt to utilize the vaguely classical Beaux-Arts architectural style, which emerged from the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893, for the explicit intent of beautification and social amelioration was the Senate Park Commission's redesign of the monumental core of Washington D.C. to commemorate the city's centennial. The McMillan Plan of 1901-02, named for Senator James McMillan, the commission's liaison and principal backer in Congress, was the United States' first attempt at city planning.
- Corning Museum of Glass
The Corning Museum of Glass's home page begins with its local address and phone numbers and provides a menu of places to visit within the museum site, including, "A Resource for Glass," a collection of information developed to answer questions about glass, and "Glossary of Glassmaking Terms," an alphabetical list of terms with in-depth definitions.
- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and journals, image databases, and information on organizations, museums and research facilities. The site was created and is maintained at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture: Image and Text Collections
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources. Made possible by the Chipstone Foundation, the project is produced at the University of Wisconsin Madison General Library System.
- Furniture Glossary
A compilation of terms and acronyms on furniture styles, design and construction.
- Harper's Bazaar Magazine
A browse-able collection of issues from the 19th Century magazine, Harper's Bazaar (1867-1900).
- MAD: Maine Antique Digest
MAD's bulletin board, with table of contents from current issues, and over 90 book reviews of books dealing with antiques and collectibles.
- Museum of Glass: International Center for Contemporary Art
The Museum of Glass: International Center for Contemporary Art in Tacoma Washington presents contemporary art with a sustained concentration on the medium of glass. The Museum exhibition schedule includes works by internationally known artists and trends in contemporary art. The exhibition program offers artists and audiences the opportunity to experiment with and experience a full range of media in the visual arts.
- National Building Museum
Created by an act of Congress in 1980, the National Building Museum is America’s premier cultural institution dedicated to exploring and celebrating architecture, design, engineering, construction, and urban planning.
- National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the Nation's official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources. Properties listed in the Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture. The National Register is administered by the National Park Service, which is part of the U.S. Department of the Interior.
- The Noble Craftsman We Promote: The Arts and Crafts Movement in the American Midwest
An online version of the Toledo University exhibition, looks at four particular areas of Arts and Crafts in the Midwest: the book arts, architecture, interior and exterior design, and the decorative arts and attempts to explain how the movement in the heartland differed from its purer British counterpart.
- Paint by Number: Accounting for Taste in the 1950s
A brief resource list for a unique subject.
- Quilt Index
The Quilt Index aims to be a central resource that incorporates a wide variety of sources and information on quilts, quiltmakers and quiltmaking. The Quilt Index was conceived and developed by The Alliance for American Quilts and implemented in collaboration with Michigan State University's MATRIX: The Center for Humane Arts, Letters and Social Sciences Online and the Michigan State University Museum.
- Sears Modern Homes
This site features a history of the Sears Modern Homes program, photos, catalog advertisements, references and a registry of owners. More than 100,000 Sears ready-made houses were sold from 1908 to 1940.
- Skyscraper Museum
Founded in 1996, THE SKYSCRAPER MUSEUM is a private, not-for-profit, educational corporation devoted to the study of high-rise building, past, present, and future. Located in New York City, the world's first and foremost vertical metropolis, the museum celebrates the city's rich architectural heritage and examines the historical forces and individuals that have shaped its successive skylines. Through exhibitions, programs and publications, the museum explores tall buildings as objects of design, products of technology, sites of construction, investments in real estate, and places of work and residence.
- Society of Architectural Historians (SAH)
Founded in 1940, the Society encourages scholarly research in the field and promotes the preservation of significant architectural monuments that are an integral part of the worldwide historical and cultural heritage. They publish the quarterly Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians and bimonthly Newsletter. There are several bibliographies and links to related organizations.
- Stained Glass Magazine
Stained Glass Magazine on the World Wide Web, featuring the Stained Glass Association of America's conference schedule, professional announcements, calls for papers, and lists of useful catalogues and resources of interest to collectors and historians of stained glass.
- Strong Museum (Rochester, NewYork)
The Strong Museum's more than 500,000 objects include the world's largest and most historically significant collection of dolls and toys, America's most comprehensive collections of homecrafts and souvenirs, and nationally important collections of home furnishings and advertising materials.
- Strong Museum (Rochester, NewYork)
The Strong Museum's more than 500,000 objects include the world's largest and most historically significant collection of dolls and toys, America's most comprehensive collections of homecrafts and souvenirs, and nationally important collections of home furnishings and advertising materials.
- Textile Society of America
The Textile Society of America provides a forum for the exchange and dissemination of information about all aspects of textiles: historic, artistic, cultural, social, political, economic, and technical.
- Urban Planning, 1794-1918: An International Anthology of Articles, Conference Papers, and Reports
These documents are primary source material for the study of how urban planning developed up to the end of World War I. They include statements about techniques, principles, theories, and practice by those who helped to create a new professional specialization. This new field of city planning grew out of the land-based professions of architecture, engineering, surveying, and landscape architecture, as well as from the work of economists, social workers, lawyers, public health specialists, and municipal administrators.
- Vernacular Architecture Forum
The term "vernacular architecture" applies to traditional domestic and agricultural buildings, industrial and commercial structures, twentieth-century suburban houses, settlement patterns and cultural landscapes. The Vernacular Architecture Forum was formed in 1980 to encourage the study and preservation of these informative and valuable material resources.
- Victoria & Albert Museum (London)
The Museum's ceramics, glass, textiles, dress, silver, ironwork, jewellery, furniture, sculpture, paintings, prints and photographs span the cultures of Europe, North America, Asia and North Africa, and date from ancient times to the present day. There are 2000 images of the collection available for online viewing.
- Winterthur Museum & Library (Delaware)
The Winterthur Library contains approximately half a million imprints, manuscripts, visual materials, and printed ephemera for research from the 17th century to the early 20th century. The museum collections include 85,000 domestic artifacts and works of art made or used in America to 1860.
- Work of Charles and Ray Eames: A Legacy of Invention
This site is in association with the Eames exhibition tour
- American Environmental Photographs, 1891-1936: Images from the University of Chicago Library
This collection consists of approximately 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century. The photographs were taken by Henry Chandler Cowles (1869-1939), George Damon Fuller (1869-1961), and other Chicago ecologists on field trips across the North American continent.
- Bureau of Reclamation History
The U.S. Bureau of Reclamation History site is a collection of oral histories, photographs, and papers on the agency and it's work.
- Conservation and Environment - Library of Congress
The historic and more recent maps contained in this category show early exploration and subsequent land use in various areas of the United States. These maps show the changes in the landscape, including natural and man-made features, recreational and wilderness areas, geology, topography, wetland area, vegetation, and wildlife. Specific conservation projects such as the growth and development of U.S. National Parks are included in this category.
- Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress. The collection consists of 62 books and pamphlets, 140 Federal statutes and Congressional resolutions, 34 additional legislative documents, excerpts from the Congressional Globe and the Congressional Record, 360 Presidential proclamations, 170 prints and photographs, 2 historic manuscripts, and 2 motion pictures.
- Feather Trade Bibliography
A collection of readings and web sites on the development of the American Conservation Movement.
- Forest History Society Databases
The Forest History Society has six databases that are searchable on the website via InMagic's Web Publisher software. All of the databases provide useful, detailed information about primary or secondary resource materials that aid research in the broad fields of forest, conservation, and environmental history.
- H-Environment - H-NET, the Humanities & Social Sciences Online initiative
This website is intended as a general resource for people interested in environmental history. Much of its content is compiled from the discussion list H-Environment and includes book reviews, conference announcements, a course syllabus library, and a survey of films. There are also links to other organizations and websites where you can find materials of interest.
- History of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Official website of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, with links to their archival collections, oral histories, and other information sources.
- Land Use History of North America
This U.S. Geological Survey web site strives to convey the importance of a historical context for understanding ongoing changes in land cover and land use. Each section has been written by researchers for the non-specialist and reviewed independently by peer scientists.
- Love Canal Collection
The University Of Buffalo Library holds the records of the Ecumenical Task Force, 1979-1991 which contain extensive documentation of the toxic waste controversies associated with the Love Canal and related toxic waste sites in Niagara County, New York. The ETF assembled a resource file of government and other reports concerning the Love Canal and related environmental issues. The reports in the resource file and elsewhere in the records include draft documents, photocopied statements prepared by Love Canal residents, scientists and ETF members for hearings on the Love Canal, speeches, consultant reports, articles, as well as printed and online reports.
Food and Beverage History
- Bon Appétit! Julia Child's Kitchen at the Smithsonian
The Smithsonian's National Museum of American History website of their Julia Child's Kitchen exhibition.
- Doubtless as Good: Thomas Jefferson's Dreams of American Wines Fulfilled
This short bibliography, prepared by staff at the National Museum of American History, includes books on the material culture of viniculture, some historic works on American winemaking not included in the Gabler bibliography, and some relevant works on American culture and taste.
- Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project
The Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum have created an online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
- Food Reference Website
A fairly comprehensive private website that provides links to articles, information, food history dates, and a wide range of useful information on food.
- Food Timeline
A resource about food history, social history, manners and menus covering Prehistory through modern day.
- Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive
The Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive at the William L. Clements Library on the University of Michigan campus in Ann Arbor contains thousands of items from the 16th to 20th centuries - books, ephemera, menus, magazines, graphics, maps, manuscripts, diaries, letters, catalogues, advertisements, and reference works. It is a work in progress, and material is being added and catalogued daily.
- Key Ingredients: America by Food
Key Ingredients: America by Food explores the connections between Americans and the foods they produce, prepare, preserve, and present at the table – a provocative and thoughtful look at the historical, regional, and social traditions that merge in everyday meals and celebrations.
- New York Food Museum
A new and developing web-based resource on New York City foodways and food history.
- Peacock Harper Culinary Collection - Virginia Tech University
The Peacock Harper Culinary Collection is a collection of cookbooks and related items housed in the Virginia Tech Library.The VT Image Base contains over 700 images pertaining to culinary history and the collection. They publish an online newsletter called the Virginia Culinary Thymes
- Southern Foodways Alliance
The Southern Foodways Alliance website contains links to ongoing research projects, symposiums and their oral history texts. It is a subsidiary of the University of Mississippi's, Center for the Study of Southern Culture.
- Taking America to Lunch
This Smithsonian exhibition in the National Museum of American History features samples from the museum's collection of lunch boxes from the 19th century plain metal buckets to 20th century popular culture images on boxes made of synthetic materials.
- American Printing History Association
The American Printing History Association was founded to encourage the study of printing history and its related arts and skills, including calligraphy, typefounding, typography, papermaking, bookbinding, illustration, and publishing. APHA is especially, but by no means exclusively, interested in American printing history.
- Fine Press Book Association
The Fine Press Book Association is an organization formed by individuals interested in the art of fine printing to promote printing skills and the appreciation of beautiful books.
- Graphic Artists Guild
- Guild of Book Workers
The Guild is the national non-profit organization for all the book arts. It was founded in 1906 and has grown to include such areas as bookbinding, printing, conservation, marbling, calligraphy, and papermaking.
- Robert C. Williams Paper Museum
This Web site traces the history, art, and science of paper making.
- Society for the History of Authorship, Reading & Publishing
The Society (SHARP) provides a global network for book historians, 1000 members in over 20 countries, including professors of literature, historians, librarians, publishing professionals, sociologists, bibliophiles, classicists, booksellers, art historians, reading instructors, and independent scholars.
History of American Education
- Separate Is Not Equal: Brown vs. Board of Education
The annotated bibliography includes information about related Web resources and teacher materials, as well as fiction and non-fiction books for children, young adults, and adults.
- Slates, Slide Rules, and Software: Teaching Math in America
A collection of reference resources on the tools used in teaching mathematics in the United States from the 1800s onward.
History of Technology - Invention and Inventors
- Canada Science and Technology Museum
This site links you to the various collections within the Canada Science and Technology Museum.
- Edison After Forty
This listing includes Edison's Papers, book-length studies, childrens books, and museums.
- Edison Papers Web Site
The Edison Papers Web Site is a searchable database, based on the University Press of America's editions of Thomas Edison's papers, which detail the first 31 years of his life.
- History of Household Technology
This compilation from the Library of Congress lists sources useful in examining the history of household technology, primarily in the United States during the last half of the 19th and the first half of the 20th century.
- LSU Libraries Patent & Trademark Site
Louisiana State University Libraries subject guide with limks to sources on intellectual property or patent and trademark searching.
- Lighting a Revolution: A Bibliography of Lighting
A collection of books, articles, and web sites on the history and technology of electrical lighting.
- National Inventors Hall of Fame
Web site for the National Inventors Hall of Fame, in Akron, Ohio. Features a collection of biographies of members of the National Inventors Hall of Fame.
- Powering a Generation of Change
This bibliography lists books, journal articles, and reports documenting the story of electrical power restructuring in North America.
- Rothschild Petersen Patent Model Museum
The Rothschild Petersen Patent Model Museum is the largest privately-owned collection of United States patent models in the world. Containing nearly 4,000 patent models and related documents, the collection spans America's Industrial Revolution.
- Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)
The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) is dedicated to the historical study of technology and its relations with politics, economics, labor, business, the environment, public policy, science, and the arts.
- The Office Museum
This commercial website engages in research on the history and evolution of offices, antique office machines and equipment, and business technology based on original documents and artifacts.
- The Time Warp
This project is designed to help preserve information about technology and make it accessible. The time-warp archive categories are: calculating machines, radio, audio equipment, recorded media, TV, toys, photography, bibliotech (paper), computers, gadgets, telephones, and clocks.
- U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
The official web site of the USPTO has a searchable database. Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications.
- Yesterday's Office
This site contains articles on antique or redundant office technology and links to related sites.
History of the Computer and the Internet
- Atlas of Cyberspace: Historical Maps of Computer Networks
A range of the historical maps of ARPANET, the Internet, Usenet, and other computer networks, tracing how these pioneering networks grew and developed.
- Charles Babbage Institute, University of Minnesota
CBI is dedicated to promoting study of the history of information technology and information processing and their impact on society.
- Chronology of Events in the History of Microcomputers
A timetable of significant events in the history of computing, with product announcements and delivery dates from a variety of sources.
- Computer Museum History Center (Silicon Valley)
The Computer Museum History Center is a non-profit entity dedicated to the preservation and celebration of computing history. It holds one of the largest collections of computing artifacts in the world.
- Intel Museum (Santa Clara)
This museum documents the development and construction of computer chips by one of the leading manufacturers of chip technology.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in the Presidio of San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in the collections.
- Internet Histories
A collection of links about the history of the Internet, from the ISOC , the Internet Society, a non-governmental international organization, committed to global cooperation and coordination for the Internet.
- Making the Macintosh: Technology and Culture in Silicon Valley
"Making the Macintosh" is an online project documenting the history of the Macintosh computer. This project collects and publishes primary material on the Macintosh's development and early reception. It draws on the extensive holdings of the Stanford University Library's Department of Special Collections, the personal papers of engineers and technical writers involved in the Macintosh project, and interviews conducted for the project.
Lewis and Clark Expedition
- Discovering Lewis and Clark
This comprehensive website contains more than 1,400 pages, and is updated monthly with additional material. This website includes a nineteen-part synopsis of the expedition's story by historian Harry W. Fritz, illustrated with selections from the journals of the expedition, photographs, maps, animated graphics, moving pictures, and sound files.
- Kansas State Historical Society: Lewis and Clark
This website provides the user with information about the history of the expedition in Kansas.
- Lewis and Clark 200
Lewis and Clark 200 is an internet portal that allows users to browse through businesses, events, and activities along the Lewis and Clark Trail and contains over 800 linked websites. This site also includes several online articles about Lewis and Clark in the History section. These articles cover a variety of topics such as the cost of the expedition, medical supplies and treatment, and food provisions.
- Lewis and Clark as Naturalists
In this site, users are able to follow the Lewis and Clark trail, and discover the flora and fauna and wildlife as they described it along the way. It includes an interactive map and original journal entries from the expedition.
- Lewis and Clark Expedition, American Treasures in the Library of Congress
This site provides a small sampling of primary materials (maps and journal entries) related to the Lewis and Clark expedition that are housed in the Library of Congress.
- Lewis and Clark Expedition: Selected Resources
The Smithsonian Institution has created this directory of sites on the Lewis and Clark Expedition.
- Lewis and Clark Across Missouri
The Geographic Resources Center at the Department of Geography, University of Missouri partnered with the Missouri State Archives to create this website offering campsite maps, photo-realistic images of important river landmarks, and animated virtual Missouri River travel to trace Lewis and Clark's expedition.
- Lewis and Clark in North Dakota
Lewis and Clark in North Dakota is one of most informative websites available about the expedition. A highlight is the In North Dakota Link that includes personal profiles of the individuals involved in the expedition, background information about the sites that Lewis and Clark visited, an expedition chronology, a facts and trivia section, maps, and a bibliography.
- Lewis and Clark Trail Heritage Foundation Inc.
The mission of the Lewis and Clark Trail Heritage Foundation is to stimulate public appreciation of the Lewis and Clark Expedition's contributions to America's heritage, and to support education, research, development, and preservation of the Lewis and Clark experience. Their website includes a detailed history of the expedition with a bibliography. The site also includes a link to the The Lewis and Clark Trail Heritage Foundation Library. The Library has about 800 book titles and 300 articles relating to the Lewis & Clark Expedition. The library also has maps, genealogical information, sound, and video recordings. Users can search the library's catalog online.
- Lewis and Clark: Indiana Bicentennial Commission
This site outlines Indiana's important role in the expedition and lists events to commemorate the expedition.
- Lewis and Clark: Mapping the West
This Smithsonian site reviews the cartographic work of the Corps of Discovery.
- Monticello, The Home of Thomas Jefferson: Jefferson's West
This website has a special section on Lewis and Clark that includes an expedition timeline, bibliography, website links, and online study resources for teachers and students. This site is particularly recommended for users who are interested in researching the role that President Thomas Jefferson played in the expedition.
- PBS Online: Lewis and Clark
This website is a companion resource to the Ken Burns film: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery and contains several special features that will appeal to users. It provides users with a search engine enables users to search the expedition journals by author, date, or year. It contains transcripts of unedited interviews with various experts and historians about their perspectives on the expedition. It also includes expedition timelines, maps, a bibliography, and related links.
- The Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition
The Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition website makes available for users the text of the celebrated Nebraska edition of the journals, edited by by Gary M. Moulton. Moulton's edition is considered to be the most accurate and inclusive version published. Currently, the site offers almost two hundred pages from volume 4. In the future, the site will provide access to the full set of journals, almost 5000 pages of primary source material. This site also includes a full text search engine.
- Artificial Anatomy: Papier-Mâché Anatomical Models
Resources on Anatomy, Papier- Mâché, Preservation, and Trade Catalogs.
- DeWitt Stetten, Jr., Museum of Medical Research (NIH)
Established in 1986 as a part of the NIH centennial observance, the Stetten Museum collects and exhibits biomedical research instruments and NIH memorabilia.
- History of Polio
A bibliography of print and non-print resources, a glossary of terms and a collection of related web links.
- Human Radiation Experiments (DOE)
A website from the US Department of Energy offering a "roadmap" to the stories and records of the cold-war story of radiation research on human subjects.
- Medical Antiques & Pre-1900 Antique Surgical Sets
From the Arbittier Museum of Medical History, examples of medical antiques, amputation, and surgical sets by some of the most famous makers of the 1800's. Of particular interest are those surgical antiques used in the Civil War. There is a section on pricing and valuation of early surgical sets and kits as well as extensive topics on antique medical collecting.
- Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. The collection resides at the Internet Archive.
- Medicine in the Americas, 1619-1914
The Medicine in the Americas website provides access to a number of key primary historical documents that deal with a number of areas, such as women’s health, public health, and clinical works of enduring historical value. Currently, there are a total of eight works in the archive, and they include Clara Barton’s “The Red Cross of the Geneva Convention” from 1878 and L. Emmett Holt’s 1894 work “The Care and Feeding of Children: A Catechism for the Use of Mothers and Children’s Nurses”.
- Medicine/Behavioral Science
Virtual library, featuring hundreds of links to libraries, digitized images, biographies, bibliographies, articles, and online exhibits in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.
- National Library of Medicine
National Library of Medicine home page, with links to a variety of sites on the Internet.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- The Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library (MHL) is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. The collection resides at the Internet Archive.
- A Historic Context for the African American Military Experience [PDF]
The purpose of this report is to recognize and highlight the contributions of African Americans to the military history of the United States. It is sponsored by the U.S. Army Construction Engineering Research Laboratories (USACERL).
- Access to Military Service and Pension Records
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the official repository for records of military personnel who have been discharged from the U.S. Air Force, Army, Marine Corps, Navy and Coast Guard.
- Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously. A comprehensive list of all journals covered by AULIMP since 1949 is available as the Historical Index of AULIMP titles.
- Company of Military Historians
The web site for the journal with several useful links and color plates of uniforms.
- Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms
Sets forth standard US military and associated terminology to encompass the joint activity of the Armed Forces of the United States in both US joint and allied joint operations, as well as to encompass the Department of Defense as a whole.
- Historic U.S. Government Publications from World War II
This Southern Methodist University Libraries site allows users to search or browse a collection of over 300 United States government documents produced during World War II.
- Index to the Uniforms of the American Revolution
This site is provided by the Sons of the Revolution in the State of California and contains several images of American Revolutionary War uniforms.
- Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH)
The Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH) at the University of Virginia's Web page featuring Edward Ayers's material on the Great Valley in the Civil War.
- Military Review - English Edition Archives
Archival collection of the professional journal of the U.S. Army Combined Arms Center (CAC) and the Command and General Staff College (CGSC).
- Military Women Veterans
This site documents the contributions of American women to the Armed Forces of the United States.
- Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
Papers of the War Department is a project of the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission. This collection of more than 55,000 documents is in an online format with extensive and searchable metadata linked to digitized images of each document.
- Price of Freedom: Americans at War
This online exhibition from the National Museum of American History presents a timeline of American military conflicts from the War of Independence through the War in Iraq, 2003. It also includes information on hundreds of artifacts related to America’s military history, along with learning resources for educators.
- Redstone Hyper-media Historical Information
Designed by the MICOM Historical Office, this home page features the Redstone Arsenal Complex Chronological Highlights such as; The Pre-Missile Era (1941-1949) and Women at War: Redstone's WWII Female
- United States Army Center of Military History
CMH Online is an information and education service provided by the U.S. Army Center of Military History.
- United States Civil War History Center
This website from the Civil War Trust promotes the study of the Civil War by providing battlefield maps, information from primary sources, and photographs from the Trust's own collection.
- Veterans History Project - Library of Congress
The Veterans History Project covers World War I, World War II, and the Korean, Vietnam, and Persian Gulf wars. It includes all participants in those wars--men and women, civilian and military. It documents the contributions of civilian volunteers, support staff, and war industry workers as well as the experiences of military personnel from all ranks and all branches of service--the Air Force, Army, Marine Corps, and Navy, as well as the U.S. Coast Guard and Merchant Marine.
- War Times Journal
The War Times Journal is a free online magazine which covers all periods of military history and military science.
- West Point in the Making of America
There are eight subject categories from this exhibition reading list on West Point graduates and their contributions to the nation in peace and war.
- World War I Edition of Stars and Stripes - Library of Congress
From February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919, by order of General John J. Pershing, the United States Army published a newspaper for its forces in France, The Stars and Stripes. This online collection, presented by the Serial and Government Publications Division of the Library of Congress, includes the complete seventy-one-week run of the newspaper's World War I edition.
Naval and Maritime History
- Advisory Council on Underwater Archaeology
The Advisory Council on Underwater Archaeology has been at the forefront of underwater archaeology for over 35 years. The ACUA serves as an international advisory body on issues relating to underwater archaeology, conservation, and submerged cultural resources management.It is working to educate scholars, governments, sport divers, and the general public about underwater archaeology and the preservation of underwater resources.
- All Hands Magazine Archives
Each issue of this U. S. Navy bulletin and magazine (1922-2011) has been scanned and digitized in Adobe Acrobat format. Free access.
- American Merchant Marine at War
The U.S. Maritime Service Veterans complied this collection of war service related topical links.
- Council of American Maritime Museum
The Council of American Maritime Museums (CAMM) is an organization dedicated to preserving North America's maritime history. The Members include museums, museum professionals, and scholars from United States, Mexico, Bermuda, Australia and Canada. CAMM works to promote high professional standards in the preservation and interpretation of maritime history. Our Members seek to convey and preserve this history through collections, sites, vessels, projects, exhibitions, and research.
- Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships
The Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships, commonly known as DANFS, is the foremost reference regarding U.S. naval vessels. Published in nine volumes (from 1959 to 1991), it gives histories for virtually every U.S. naval vessel.
- Fast Attacks & Boomers: Submarines in the Cold War
Selections for further reading on the growth and development of the U.S. Nuclear Navy.
- Historic Naval Ships Association
The purpose of the Historic Naval Ships Association is to facilitate the exchange of information and provide mutual support among those who are working hard to maintain their aging vessels physically and financially. The ships of HNSA are located in the United States, Canada, Western Europe, and Australia. The ships are organized into three categories on the site: name of ship, type of ship, and location.
- Index to Ships in Books -- Search Page
This index allows researchers to search the names of commercial and naval vessels that were published in a variety of books and serials. A bibliography of those printed resources is included.
- International Congress of Maritime Museums
The International Congress of Maritime Museums is a professional guild of associations, organizations, and individuals in the maritime preservation field. Their website includes a news section that provides information about recently discovered wrecks, upcoming museum exhibits, and other developments in the field.
- Maritime History Links on the Net
This comprehensive list covers a variety of subjects related to Maritime History.
- Nautical Research Guild, Inc.
The Nautical Research Guild links researchers, collectors, and builders of the highest quality ship models. The Guild emphasizes learning about ships and maritime history through academic research, as applied and expressed in the process of ship model building and other artistic and academic endeavors.
- Smith's Master Index of Maritime Museum Websites
This site allows users to search for Maritime Museum websites worldwide. The site also has a list of "virtual websites"; these websites contain maritime historical information but are not affiliated with a particular museum
- Steamship Historical Society of America
The Steamship Historical Society (SSHSA) is an organization dedicated to preserving artifacts and memories from the steamship days of the past.
- U.S. Naval Historical Center
The Naval Historical Center is the official history program of the Department of the Navy. The Center now includes a museum, art gallery, research library, archives, and curator as well as research and writing programs.
- U.S. Naval Vessel Register
The Naval Vessel Register contains information on ships and service craft that comprise the official inventory of the U.S. Navy from the time of vessel authorization through its life cycle and disposal. It also includes ships that have been stricken but not disposed.
- American Numismatic Society
Official website of the American Numismatic Society offers a list of online resources, including MANTIS, a searchable database of over 600,000 objects from the Society's collections of international coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations.
- American Numismatics Association
Features information about ANA, a membership form, a link to ANA's ftp site, and links to an educational and museum directory. The FTP site includes press releases; ANA's library catalog; ANA's classification system; video list; and slide lists. The educational and museum directory features ANA's exhibits online; scholarship information; and convention updates.
- Coins of Colonial and Early America
This University of Notre Dame site features discussions, descriptions and images of the coins and tokens used in Colonial and Confederation America based on examples in the Department of Special Collections. A companion project features Colonial and Confederation era paper currency.
- Money - Past, Present & Future
Sources of information on monetary history, contemporary developments, and the prospects for electronic money.
- National Numismatic Collection, Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of American History
The Smithsonian's National Numismatic Collection (NNC) is America's collection of monetary and transactional objects. This diverse and expansive global collection contains objects that represent every inhabited continent and span more than three thousand years of human history.
- U.S. Department of the Treasury
U.S. Department of Treasury's Home Page includes press releases and updates on new programs and seminars being offered by the Department.
- American Memory Prints & Photographs Collection
Link to the "Collection Finder" page of the Library of Congress American Memory site.
- American Museum of Photography
The American Museum of Photography is a Virtual Museum with exhibitions drawn from the Museum's Collection, started by Wm. B. Becker 30 years ago. The Collection includes five thousand individual images, from the earliest daguerreotype portraits to the work of Ansel Adams. Each photograph has been chosen for its visual impact as well as for the importance of its content.
- Freeze Frame: Eadweard Muybridge’s Photography of Motion
Information on the collection, links, and readings on Muybridge and his work on locomotion.
- George Eastman Museum: International Museum of Photography and Film
The George Eastman Museum collects and interprets images, films, literature, and equipment in the disciplines of photography and motion pictures and cares for the George Eastman legacy collections.
- International Center of Photography
The International Center of Photography is a museum, a school and a center for photographers and photography, whose mission is to present photography's vital and central place in contemporary culture and to lead in interpretation issues central to its development.
- LIFE Magazine photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- Museum of Photographic Arts
The Museum of Photographic Arts (MoPA) is one of the first museum facilities in the United States designed exclusively to collect and present the world's finest examples photographic art.
- National Stereoscopic Association
The association promotes the study, collection and use of stereographs, stereo cameras and related materials for collectors and students of stereoscopic history. There is a link to the Oliver Wendell Holmes Stereoscopic Research Library.
- NYPL Digital
The New York Public Digital Library is a continually expanding collection of digitized images and text selected from throughout the Research Libraries' collections.
Stereoscopy.com provides information about stereoscopic imaging (3-D) for both amateurs and professionals.
- The Daguerreian Society
The Daguerreian Society is an organization of individuals and institutions sharing a common interest in the art, history and practice of the daguerreotype.
- UCR California Museum of Photography
This University of California-Riverside museum features contemporary exhibitions, digital and web art online, and a vast historical photograph collection.
- Building the Washington Metro
This site tells the story of the Washington Metro, a 103-mile rapid transit system serving Washington, D.C., and the surrounding areas of Maryland and Virginia.
- Center For Railroad Photography & Art
The center's focus is on the preservation and presentation of railroad-related photography and art.
- Central Pacific Railroad Photographic History Museum
This expansive website has an online library of 19th century pictures (more than 2,300), maps and descriptions of railroad construction and travel.
- Great Northern Railway Historical Society
The Society works to preserve and promote the history of the Great Northern Railway, which was created in September 1889 from several predecessor railroads in Minnesota and eventually stretched from Lake Superior at Duluth and Minneapolis/St.Paul west through North Dakota, Montana and Northern Idaho to Washington State at Everett and Seattle.
- National Railway Historical Society
Founded in 1935, the National Railway Historical Society has nearly 18,000 members and over 177 Chapters spread throughout the United States, Canada and Great Britain. It is now the United States' largest rail enthusiast organization.
- Railroad Maps, 1828-1900
The maps presented here are a selection from the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division holdings, based on the cartobibliography, Railroad Maps of the United States: A Selective Annotated Bibliography of Original 19th-century Maps in the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress. This annotated list reveals the scope of the railroad map collection and highlights the development of railroad mapping in 19th-century America. Described are 623 maps chosen from more than 3,000 railroad maps and about 2,000 regional, state, and county maps, and other maps which show "internal improvements" of the past century.
- Railroads and the Making of Modern America
This University of Nebraska project seeks to document and represent the rapid and far-reaching social effects of railroads and to explore the transformation of the United States to modern ideas, institutions, and practices in the nineteenth century. Railroads and the Making of Modern America seeks to use the digital medium to investigate, represent, and analyze this social change and document episodes of the railroad's social consequence.
- Academic Info: The American West
Academic Info, an educational organization, created this directory of Internet resources on the history of the American West. This list covers a variety of subjects including Native Americans, women, religious history, the Gold Rush, Asian Americans, and railroads.
- History of the American West, 1860-1920
This site contains over 30,000 photographs, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library. These photos illuminate many aspects of the history of the American West. Most of the photographs were taken between 1860 and 1920. They illustrate Colorado towns and landscape, document the place of mining in the history of Colorado and the West, and show the lives of Native Americans from more than forty tribes living west of the Mississippi River.
- New Perspectives on the West
This is the companion website to the Ken Burns documentary series, the West. This site contains selected documentary materials, archival images and commentary, as well as links to background information and other resources.
- North of the West: The Canadian West
This section of WestWeb provides information about the Canadian West. Under Resources, the user will find biographies of Western Canadians as well as other resources, such as bibliographies and teaching materials.
- The Canadian West - The National Archives of Canada
This National Archives of Canada website explores several aspects of European arrival and settlement in the Canadian West, and provides a glimpse of those people who helped forge the new society and bring the West into Confederation.
- The First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820
This Library of Congress site consists of 15,000 pages of original historical material documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century. The collection is drawn from the holdings of the University of Chicago Library and the Filson Historical Society of Louisville, Kentucky
- The Oregon Territory and its Pioneers
This website focuses on the pioneers of the Oregon Territory up to and including 1855...The first section is called THE SETTLING OF OREGON and is a compilation of information [including pioneer lists by year of emigration] extracted from a variety of sources. The second section lists the UPDATES that are in progress. The third section is devoted to RESEARCHING THE PIONEERS and provides links to research and historic sites that may be of interest."
- The Oregon Trail
This website is a comprehensive source of information about the historic Oregon Trail. It includes primary source documents such as Trail diaries and memoirs. The site was created by Prof. Mike Trinklein and Steve Boettcher, creators of The Oregon Trail, the award-winning documentary film which aired nationally on PBS
WestWeb is a topically organized website about the study of the American West. Under each topic heading, the user will find collections of primary and secondary documents, biographical and bibliographical resources, and lists of hot links to other sites of interest, and images.
- Astronomical Observatory of Palermo
The library of the Astronomical Observatory of Palermo has a very rich collection of trade catalogues of instrument makers.
- Canada Science and Technology Museum
The Canada Science and Technology Museum trade literature collection consists of manufacturers' catalogues, price lists, promotional pamphlets, repair manuals and operating guides covering a wide range of subjects relating to science and technology, and their relationship to the transformation of Canadian society from the nineteenth century to the present. This growing collection includes over 75 000 items.
- Canadian Centre for Architecture CCA Library: Special Collections Trade Catalogues
Approximately 5,600 trade catalogues documenting building technology and construction methods from the late eighteenth century to the present. Core of the collection formed through acquisition of the relevant portions of the Franklin Institute trade catalogue collection. Coverage is broad and includes such categories as concrete and lumber, metalwork and woodwork, flooring, heating and insulation, plumbing and electricity, windows and roofing.
- Columbia University. Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library
The American collection is one of the most extensive in existence. It begins with the first pertinent book to be published in the colonies, Abraham Swan's British Architect (Philadelphia, 1775), and includes a large number of titles listed in H.R. Hitchcock's basic bibliography, American Architectural Books. In the seventies and eighties the scope of the American collection was expanded to include printed source materials not previously collected. These include early trade catalogs from the manufacturers of building products (1840-1950).
- Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum Library Reference Collection
There are over 4,500 trade catalogs in the Cooper-Hewitt Library collection, some dating from the 17th century.
- Corning Museum of Glass. Rakow Research Library
The Juliette K. and Leonard S. Rakow Research Library of The Corning Museum of Glass has a wide-ranging collection including books, magazines, trade and auction catalogues, personal and corporate archives, videotapes, microforms, sound recordings, drawings, prints, photographs, and slides. Its mission is to acquire and preserve all informational resources on the art, history and early science and technology of glass, in all languages and all formats.
- D'Arcy Collection
The D'Arcy Collection of the Communications Library of the University of Illinois is a collection of almost two million original advertisements published between 1890 and 1970. The collection, which was donated by the D'Arcy, MacManus & Masius advertising agency (now D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles) in 1983, is a rich source of research information on products advertised by many agencies. While the vast majority of these advertisements appeared in newspapers, magazines and trade journals, there are a few in other forms such as brochures, signs, and programs. Most of the clippings advertise standard consumer products, but there are a number of obsolete categories such as spats, bathing shoes, and Prohibition.
- Digital Collections & Trade Catalogs from the Indiana Historical Society
This collection concentrates on catalogs from businesses that were either headquartered in Indiana or had a substantial presence in the state. Items in this collection date from the 1840s through the 1990s. The catalogs document the wide range of commodities that have come out of Indiana.
- Hagley Museum and Library
The library houses an important collection of books, pamphlets, trade catalogs, manuscripts, photographs, ephemera, and audiovisual materials documenting the history of American business and technology. Hagley's main strength is in the Middle Atlantic region, but the scope of collecting includes business organizations and companies with national and international impact.
- Instruments for Science, 1800-1914: Scientific Trade Catalogs in Smithsonian Collections
Digital collection of scientific instrument trade catalogs
- John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
- Marketing in the Modern Era
Marketing in the Modern Era: Trade Catalogs and the Rise of 19th-Century American Advertising: an online exhibit at the Baker Library at Harvard University.
- National Museum of American History Library Trade Literature Collection
This collection contains more than 460,000 catalogs, technical manuals, advertising brochures, price lists, company histories and related materials representing over 36,000 companies.
- National Museum of American History -- Archives Center, Warshaw Collection of Business Americana
The National Museum of American History purchased the Warshaw Collection of Business Americana, ca. 1724-1977 in 1967. The collection was assembled by Isadore Warshaw and represents the largest advertising ephemera collection in the United States, occupying more than 1,020 cubic feet of storage space. Organization, re-housing, and description of the Warshaw Collection are a long-term project. Most portions of the collection are open to researchers in the Archives Center.
- New Jersey Trade and Manufacturers' Catalogs
Housed in Special Collections and University Archives, the Rutgers University Libraries collection of New Jersey trade and manufacturers catalogs represents part of the University's effort "to collect, preserve and make available for research, primary and secondary materials in various formats, documenting all aspects of New Jersey's history, from its founding to the present."
- Otis Historical Archives, National Museum of Health and Medicine, Armed Forces Institute of Pathology
Particularly strong collections within the OHA include the areas of medical illustration, including anatomical drawings and paintings, photographs, and photomicrographs; reconstructive surgery and prosthetics; tropical and infectious disease research; trade literature and advertisements; medical technology and battlefield surgery from the Civil War through to the present conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan.
- Sears Modern Homes
This site features a history of the Sears Modern Homes program, photos, catalog advertisements, references and a registry of owners. More than 100,000 Sears ready-made houses were sold from 1908 to 1940.
- Seed Catalogs from the Smithsonian Libraries Trade Literature Collection
The Smithsonian Libraries has a unique trade catalog collection that includes about 10,000 seed and nursery catalogs dating from 1830 to the present, documenting the history of the seed and agricultural implement business in the United States, as well as providing a history of botany and plant research such as the introduction of plant varieties into the US. Additionally, the seed trade catalogs are a window into the history of graphic arts in advertising, and a social history, through the text and illustrations, showing changing fashions in flowers and vegetables.
- Sewing Machine Galleries
Created by David and Lin Best, this site comprises photographs of over 130 sewing machines from their collection, together with information about the manufacturers that produced them.
- Sewing Machines: Historical Trade Literature in Smithsonian Institution Collections
This guide illustrates the range of materials published by and about sewing machine companies in the United States, starting in the 1840s. Sewing machine catalogs and other industry materials are just one portion of the remarkable collections of manufacturers' trade literature held in the libraries, archives and curatorial units of the Smithsonian Institution.
- Shedding Light on New York: Edward F. Caldwell & Co.
The E. F. Caldwell & Co. Collection at the Cooper-Hewitt Museum Library, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, contains more than 50,000 images consisting of approximately 37,000 black & white photographs and 13,000 original design drawings of lighting fixtures and other fine metal objects that they produced from the late 19th to the mid-20th centuries.
- Taking the Wheel: Manufacturers’ Catalogs from the First Decade of American Automobiles
This New York Public Library digital presentation offers a sampling from the year 1909 of the Science, Industry and Business Library's (SIBL) collection of manufacturers' catalogs and price lists. Several hundred photomechanical reproductions from the pages of motor vehicle (automobiles and some trucks) manufacturers' catalogs from 1909, in the first decade of the automobile industry.
- The Virtual Laboratory (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science)
The digital library of the Virtual Library contains scans of historical books, journals, laboratory notebooks and instrument catalogues. Furthermore, it provides bibliographical information based on tables of contents (overview) and on existing personal bibliographies which have been checked for consistency. Every item can be acessed by author, title, year or word contained in the title.
- University of California, Santa Barbara. Library. Special Collections. Romaine Trade Catalog Collection
Lawrence B. Romaine (1900-1967) was an antiquarian book dealer, who bought and sold rare books, manuscripts, trade catalogs, and other Americana. Romaine was recognized as the leading expert in the U.S. on trade catalogs, and was the author of A Guide to American Trade Catalogs, 1774-1900 (New York: R. R. Bowker Company, 1960), the standard reference work in this field. Romaine spent approximately 30 years collecting over 41,000 trade catalogs from the 19th and early 20th centuries, on every imaginable product from agricultural implements, clothes, medical and surgical instruments to weathervanes and windmills. The bulk of his collection focused on machines, tools, engines and other hardware used in agriculture and manufacturing industries.
- University of Delaware Trade Catalogs: An online exhibition
The University of Delaware Library Special Collections Department houses an extensive collection of trade catalogs and advertising ephemera produced in the United States from the middle of the eighteenth century until the present day. The trade catalog collection also complements the Special Collections Department's traditional strengths in the history of horticulture, science and technology, printing and publishing, and the book arts. Companies selling printing supplies, agricultural implements and nursery stock, type founders, publishing companies, and booksellers are particularly well-represented as are the catalogs of Delaware businesses.
- Victoria and Albert Museum, National Art Library
The National Art Library holds numerous examples of trade catalogues within its collections. Some items entered the NAL during the 19th century, and both current and retrospective examples of trade catalogues have been added to the collections throughout the 20th century. Since 1983 the policy has been to actively collect both current and retrospective examples of trade literature in areas broadly in line with the research interests of the Victoria and Albert Museum.
- Winterthur Museum Library
WinterCat is the Winterthur Library's online catalogue and includes nearly 60,000 bibliographic records, representing the holdings of the four collections that constitute the Winterthur Library. Records for imprints, periodicals, rare printed materials, manuscript and ephemera holdings, photographs, and archival resources are all in one database, which researchers can use to determine the library's holdings on any given topic, person, or organization through one search. WinterCat features hyperlinks to manuscript finding aids and selected images.
- Women Working, 1800-1930: trade catalogs
To illustrate the world of women working, the Open Collections Program of Harvard University Library has digitized a group of trade catalogs. These colorful works illustrate the dramatic changes that were taking place between 1870 and 1930 in the home, in the workplace, and in the minds of retailers and manufacturers.
United States Cartography and Maps
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
This site contains approximately two million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States and its territories. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State, county, and geographic coordinates.
- Library of Congress Map Collection 1500-2004
The Library of Congress' map collection contains the topical areas of cities and towns, conservation and environment, discovery and exploration, cultural landscapes, military battles and campaigns, as well as transportation and communication.
- Mapping History: American History
The maps cover a variety of historical topics from pre-1500 Native American culture, to the Civil War and Reconstruction, to 20th century health. Some of these maps are interactive.
- National Map Small-Scale Collection
The site from the U.S. Geological Survey offers a collection of small-scale datasets available for free download, along with hundreds of printable reference maps developed as part of the 1997-2014 edition of the National Atlas.
- University of Georgia Libraries Hargrett Rare Books and Manuscripts
The collection encompasses 500 years including maps on Georgia, the New World, the Colonial America, the revolutionary America, the revolutionary Georgia, the Union and expansion, the American Civil War, the frontier to the new South, Savannah and the coast, and transportation.
- University of Illinois Historical Maps Online
These maps mainly focus from 1650 to 1994 on North America and the Northwest Territory, Maps of the Midwest, Illinois and Champaign County, and the Warner & Beers Atlas of 1876.
- University of Texas at Austin's Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
This collection contains maps arranged by state, city, and topical. Many of the maps are from the late 1700s through the early 1900s.
- US History by Online Highways
The topical maps include the areas of early America, Colonial Period, Revolutionary America, young republic, and election maps of the early 1900s.
- Virtual Library Unites States Maps
This sight contains links to the following kinds of United States maps: bibliography, gazetteers, relief maps, atlases, GIS and satellite data, cartography, chronological, maps by states, and topical maps.
World's Fairs and Expositions
- A Century of Progress: The 1933-34 Chicago World's Fair
The John Crerar Library (which is now part of the University of Chicago Libraries) collected various official publications, press releases, guidebooks, and other related materials pertaining to this world exposition. Approximately 350 of those collected items are now available on this website. The collection may be browsed by publication author, publication title, and the general subject of each publication.
- A Treasury of World's Fair Art & Architecture
This site provides access to art and architecture related images, virtual museum-like curated tours, and contextual essays covering a broad number of international fairs, selected from the rich World's Fair Collection at the Architecture Library, University of Maryland (UM).
- Alaska Yukon Pacific Exposition Centennial
This University of Washington Libraries digital collection contains more than 1200 photographs of the 1909 fair held on the grounds of the University of Washington, depicting buildings, grounds, entertainment and exotic attractions.
- Donald G. Larson Collection on International Expositions and Fairs, 1851-1940
The Donald G. Larson Collection at Cal-State Fresno, consists of approximately 1,600 books and more than 6,500 pamphlets, postcard, sheet music, and other materials.
ExpoMuseum was first created as a web site in 1998 by Urso S. A. Chappell, and is maintained by him.The site pays tribute to the past, present, and future of these immensely popular expositions, and also includes a number of fun features, such as a discussion area and a special section dedicated to the architecture of these places.
- Hyper-text Thesis on the World's Columbian Exposition
A Masters thesis, by Julie K. Rose, M.A. English, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA on the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893, in Chicago, Illinois, which features a virtual tour of the Fair and offers analysis of social and cultural importance of the World's Columbian Exposition.
- Paris 1900 - The Exhibit of American Negroes
The Exhibit of American Negroes is a reconstruction of highlights from an exhibit of the same name put together by W. E. B. DuBois, Thomas Calloway and the Historic Black Colleges for the Paris 1900 International Exposition.
- Progress Made Visible: American World's Fairs and Expositions
The Special Collections Department of the University of Delaware Library holds a wide variety of primary source materials relating to the World's Fairs and Expositions held in the United States between 1876 and 1939.
- Revisiting World's Fairs and International Expositions: A Selected Bibliography, 1992 - 1999
This Smithsonian Institution Library bibliography supplements Bridget Burke's bibliography, "World's Fairs and International Expositions: Selected References 1987-1993," which was published as part of Fair Representations: World's Fairs and the Modern World, edited by Robert Rydell and Nancy Gwinn. It focuses on secondary materials that were published between 1992 and mid-summer 1999, but also includes some entries for materials prior to 1992 that were not included in the Burke's bibliography.
- The 1904 World's Fair: Looking Back at Looking Forward
An online exhibtion in association with the Missouri Historical Society's 2004 centennial celebration of the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair.
- The History of World Expositions
An EXPO 2000 resource on twenty previous World's Fairs and Expositions from 1851 to 2000.
- The Iconography of Hope: The 1939-40 New York World's Fair
Created by John C. Barans, this site features historical information and digitized photographs chronicling the 1939-40 New York World's Fair.
- World's Columbian Exposition of 1893
This website was created to provide world-wide access to thousands of illustrations and full-text images of the Chicago World's Fair of 1893 for purposes of teaching and research.
- World's Fairs and Expositions:Defining America and the World,1876-1916
This site is a directory to hundreds of online resources about the world's fairs and expositions held from 1876 to 1916. It draws heavily upon resources available in the Making of America project at Cornell University and the University of Michigan, the Library of Congress, and local documents on the later fairs that are less fully documented in the major archives.
- Worlds Fair Collection, Fresno State University
The Donald G. Larson Collection on International Expositions and Fairs, housed at the Henry Madden Library, Fresno State University, is the largest comprehensive world's fair research collection on the West Coast. The collection contains more than 16,000 official guides, pamphlets, postcards, photographs, sheet music, and other materials from over 200 different fairs from 1851 to the present. This website allows users to browse or search for images from the Larson collection.